News Nation Logo

Jaganmohan Reddy, KCR to skip PM Modi's swearing-in ceremony

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jaganmohan Reddy And His Telangana Counterpart K Chandrashekar Rao Will Not Attend The Oath-taking Ceremony Of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Agencies | Updated on: 30 May 2019, 04:12:02 PM
Jaganmohan Reddy, KCR to skip PM Modi's oath-taking ceremony (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Jaganmohan Reddy and his Telangana counterpart K Chandrashekar Rao will not attend the oath-taking  ceremony of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 

According to the reports, both Jaganmohan Reddy and K Chandrashekar Rao had accepted invitations to the ceremony and were expected to leave for Delhi this afternoon. Instead,  Jagan Mohan Reddy hosted a lunch that was attended by Rao and DMK chief MK Stalin. 

Previously, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said that she wouldn't attend the event at the Rashtrapati Bhawan over BJP's allegations of political murders in the state during the elections. 

It is to be noted that Prime Minister Narendra Modi is all set to take his oath of office today, along with his ministers, for the second consecutive term at Rashtrapati Bhawan in national capital. President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath to PM Modi and his council of ministers.  

Earlier today, PM Modi visited the memorials of Mahatma Gandhi and Atal Bihari Vajpayee and paid tributes to the late leaders.

The guest list includes BIMSTEC leaders, chief ministers of most of the states and also Bollywood stars. As far as the Opposition is concerned, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Congress chief Rahul Gandhi and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi are among other attendees. Importantly, the families of BJP workers who were allegedly killed in political violence in West Bengal in the last one year have also been invited to the ceremony. 

The Bharatiya Janata Party registered a thumping victory in 2019 Lok Sabha elections that was held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. The BJP-led NDA won 353 seats.  In the meantime, Congress party managed to win only 52 seats and the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance won 91. Other parties and their alliances bagged 98 seats.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 May 2019, 04:12:02 PM