News Nation Logo

Karnataka Crisis: CM Kumaraswamy must resign on moral ground, says BS Yeddyurappa

13 MLAs Of Congress-JDS As Of Now Have Submitted Their Resignations.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 08 Jul 2019, 06:07:38 PM
Yeddyurappa asserted that the party will take appropriate decision at the appropriate time. (File Photo: PTI)

New Delhi :

The Bharatiya Janata Party's Karnataka chief BS Yeddyurappa on Monday demanded HD Kumaraswamy’s resignation from the post of Chief Minister on moral grounds. The former chief minister said that the Congress-JDS alliance has lost the confidence after en masse resignation of MLAs.  

"When they lost confidence, they have no moral right to conduct the business. That is why we are demanding that he (CM) resign immediately," Yeddyurappa said.

Speaking ahead of the BJP legislative party meeting in Bengaluru, Yeddyurappa asserted that the party will take appropriate decision at the appropriate time. 

“Tomorrow all our workers will protest because Congress-JDS lost the majority so CM should resign immediately. That is the people's aspiration also,” he said. 

The political crisis in Karnataka started on June 6 after 13 Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) from both the parties submitted their resignation to the Speaker’s office. However, speaker KR Ramesh Kumar is yet to accept all these resignations. Both the JDS and the Congress have been plagued by dissension over allocation of ministerial berths and distribution of Lok Sabha poll tickets. The cracks became deeper after the BJP swept the parliamentary election in the state.

The coalition has 118 MLAs in the 224-member Assembly. 13 MLAs as of now have submitted their resignations. Of the 13, there are ten Congress legislators and three from the JD(S). If the resignations are accepted, Congress-JDS numbers would reduce to 105. Out of which the grand old party will have 71 legislators including the speaker while the JDS will be left with 35 legislators including the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) candidate.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has 105 MLAs in the House.

In latest developments, Independent MLA Nagesh announced his resignation from Kumaraswamy government and extended support to BJP. This helps the BJP to reach 106 figure one seat ahead of the coalition government owing if the resignations are accepted.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 08 Jul 2019, 06:07:38 PM