News Nation Logo

Karnataka Elections 2018: Congress releases first list of 218 candidates, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

The Current Chief Minister Of The State Siddaramaiah Will Contest The Elections From Chamundeshwari.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aishwarya A | Updated on: 15 Apr 2018, 09:05:34 PM
Karnataka Elections 2018: Congress releases first list of candidates (Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

The Congress on Friday evening released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming Karnataka Assembly Elections.

The current chief minister of the state Siddaramaiah will contest the elections from Chamundeshwari.

News agency ANI gave the complete 218-candidature list, which includes names like Siddaramaiah, PM Ashok, SS Malikarjun, KS Basavaraja, among others.

Yatheendra, son of Siddaramaiah, will contest the elections from Varuna constituency.

Also Read| Karnataka Elections 2018: BJP announces first list of candidates, Yeddyurappa to contest from Shikaripura

The dates for the Assembly Elections were announced by the Election Commission (EC) on March 27. The polling dates for the elections are decided as May 12, while the counting of votes shall happen on May 15. Also, the elections will be held in a single phase, as announced by the EC.

The Assembly Elections will see 56,696 polling stations, which is a nine per cent increase as that compared to last year’s elections. The EC also released a list of notifications which cannot be followed while campaigning.

The term of the current 224-member Legislative Assembly ends on May 28.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Apr 2018, 09:03:28 PM