News Nation Logo

Kerala Bypoll Results 2019: Counting Of Votes For Five Constituencies Begins

The Counting Of Votes For Five Assembly Constituencies Of Kerala - Vattiyoorkavu, Konni, Alroor, Ernakulam And Manjeswaram - Has Started.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Pawas Kumar | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 10:34:57 AM
Of the five seats, four are sitting seats of the UDF and one is held by the LDF.

New Delhi:

Kerala Assembly Bypoll Results 2019: The counting of votes for five assembly constituencies of Kerala -  Vattiyoorkavu, Konni, Alroor, Ernakulam and Manjeswaram - has started. With the bypoll results for five Assembly constituencies in Kerala just hours away, it is an anxious wait for leaders of the ruling CPI(M)-led LDF, Opposition Congress-headed UDF and the BJP-NDA who are keeping their fingers crossed on the outcome. Of the five seats, four are sitting seats of the UDF and one is held by the LDF. UDF is hoping that it would be able to repeat its performance in the Lok Sabha polls, held post Sabarimala agitation when it bagged 19 of the 20 seats, giving a severe drubbing to the ruling front. However, in the recent Pala bypoll, the LDF had managed to make a dent into the bastion of the Kerala Congress (M), a UDF partner, by wresting it after 50 years.

Congress-led opposition United Democratic Front has won the Ernakulam Assembly seat. Congress candidate TJ Vinod has trounced LDF candidate by 4232 votes, according to reports.

Congress candidate K Mohankumar has conceded defeat in Vattiyoorkaavu, where ruling LDF candidate VK Prashanth has established an unassailable lead of 7286 votes after almost half of counting being completed.

Aroor: Congress candidate Shanimol Usman is leading in the CPI (M) stronghold of Aroor Assembly seat in Alappuzha district in Kerala. KR Gowri, one of the tallest leaders of the communist movement in Kerala, had represented Aroor for 9 terms, 7 times from LDF camp and two times from UDF camp. Since 2006, CPI (M)’s AM Ariff has won the seat. 

Rajagopal of BJP leading in Ernakulam seat, M C Kamaruddin of IUML ahead in Manjeshwar. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 08:16:55 AM