News Nation Logo

PM Modi, Amit Shah meet BJP chief ministers; likely to discuss 2019 polls agenda

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 28 Aug 2018, 06:33:04 PM
LIVE: Modi-Shah meet with chief ministers of BJP ruled states (Photo Source: Twitter/@BJP4India)

New Delhi:

As the Lok Sabha elections 2019 is less than eight months away, Prime Minister Narendra Modi along with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) president Amit Shah on Tuesday met all the chief ministers and deputy chief ministers of the party-ruled states. Discussion on possible ways to reach out to the maximum number of beneficiaries of the Centre's welfare schemes is likely.

According to sources, close to the development, the conference of chief ministers will take stock of works going on in BJP-governed states across India and issue them a series of directions to ensure the party returns to power in 2019.

The agenda of good governance and running pro-poor policies have been a key feature of the chief ministers' meetings, which have been taking place regularly since Modi took over as prime minister in 2014.

Read | Rahul Gandhi Kerala visit LIVE: Congress chief interacts with flood victims at Christian College

Here are the LIVE updates:

#03:20 PM: Visuals of BJP chief ministers meeting being held at the party's headquarters in Delhi. PM Modi Amit Shah also in atttendance.

# 01:16 pm: BJP president Amit Shah inaugurates Chief Minister’s Council, a meeting with BJP's CMs and Deputy CMs at BJP HQ.

# 12:54 pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Chief Ministers of BJP-governed states gather at party headquarters in Delhi.

# 12:52 pm: Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives at BJP headquarters in Delhi for the meeting of Chief Ministers of BJP-governed states.

# 10:23 am: BJP President Amit Shah, Jharkhand Chief Minister Raghubar Das, and Bihar Deputy Chief Minister Sushil Modi arrive at BJP headquarters in Delhi for the meeting of Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states.

# 10:21 am: Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat, Chattisgarh Chief Minister Raman Singh, Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis arrive for the meeting of Chief Ministers of BJP-ruled states in Delhi

The BJP chief ministers' meeting will also stress on several ongoing issues in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, three BJP ruled states which will go to the poll later this year.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Aug 2018, 12:11:03 PM