News Nation Logo

Tripura Election 2018 Highlights | 78.56 per cent voter turnout till 9 pm Live

Polling For 59 Out Of 60 Constituencies Will Commence On Sunday Morning, Where Over 25 Lakh Voters Will Decide The Fate Of 296 Candidates. Charilam Assembly Constituency Will Undergo Voting On March 12 Since The Candidate For The Seat, Ramendra Narayan Deb Barma Passed Away Last Week.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aishwarya A | Updated on: 18 Feb 2018, 09:19:28 PM
LIVE Tripura Election 2018 | Polling begins for 59 out of 60 constituencies amid tight security (Source: AIR)

New Delhi:

Tripura will undergo polling on Sunday with the ruling Left Front, which has been in power in the state for the last 25 years, competing with both the national parties, BJP and Congress.

Voting will be held between 7 am and 4 pm at 3,214 polling stations, of which 47 would be managed only by women.

Polling for 59 out of 60 constituencies will commence on Sunday morning, where over 25 lakh voters will decide the fate of 296 candidates. Charilam Assembly constituency will undergo voting on March 12 since the candidate for the seat, Ramendra Narayan Deb Barma passed away last week.

A total of 20 seats have been reserved for the scheduled tribes.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on behalf of BJP, addressed as many as four rallies in the state, while Congress president Rahul Gandhi’s campaign was limited only to Kailashahar in Unakoti district about 180 kms from Agartala on the last day of campaigning.

A total of 307 candidates are in the fray. The CPI(M) will be contesting 57 seats, while the other Left Front blocks, the RSP, Forward Bloc and CPI will be contesting one seat each.

Here are the LIVE updates:

Voter turnout till now (around 9 pm) is 78.56 %. Voting is still underway at few polling stations. Voting slips were distributed till 4 pm & those voters are at the booths: Election Commission 

Seventy-four per cent polling recorded in Tripura Assembly election: EC

There were several complaints of malfunctioning of EVMs, many were found to be false. 12 ballot units were replaced: Election Commission

Voting still continuing in many polling stations: Election Commission

VVPAT was used for the first time in all the polling booths in Tripura: Election Commission

65% voter turnout till 3.00pm

# 45.86 per cent voter turnout till 1.00 PM

# BJP National General Secretary Ram Madhav says he is confident that Tripura will vote for BJP

# Voters queue up at polling center at Ambassa constituency, Dhalai

# 23.25  per cent voter turnout recorded till 11 am

# Voters queue up at Pratapgarh constituency

# Polling in Shishu Bihar School booth in Agartala underway

# Voters queue up at Suryamani Nagar constituency

# Tripura CM Manik Sarkar casts his vote

# 11 per cent voter turnout recorded till 9 am in Tripura

# Polling continues in the Bhati Abhay Nagar booth

# BJP Tripura President Biplab Kumar Deb cast his vote at booth number 31/34 in Udaipur

# Long queues in Agartala's Bhati Abhay Nagar (number 6/20) constituency

# EVM, VVPAT malfunctioning reported from two booths

# Voters in queue to cast their votes in Kamalpur

# Voters say, "We want a government that can push for development in the state."

# PM Modi has a special appeal for voters

# Polling in booth number 6/20 in Agartala's Bhati Abhay Nagar continues

# Voters queue up at polling booth number 31/34 in Tripura's Udaipur

People queue up at polling booth number 6/20 in Agartala's Bhati Abhay Nagar

# Tripura Election 2018: Polling begins for 59 out of the total 60 seats

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Feb 2018, 07:13:27 AM