News Nation Logo

Punjab by-election: Congress trounces BJP to take back Gurdaspur, terms victory as party's revival

Congress Has Won The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Bypoll By A Huge Margin. The Congress Candidate, Sunil Jakhar Has Defeated BJP's Swaran Salaria By A Massive Margin Of 1,93,219 Votes.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Rahul Mishra | Updated on: 15 Oct 2017, 04:04:37 PM
Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Bypoll: Congress leader Sunil Jakhar wins

New Delhi:

The ruling Congress has registered a massive victory in the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll as party candidate Sunil Jakhar received 1,93,219 votes over his nearest rival BJP candidate Swaran Salaria.

Voting for Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat by-poll had taken place on Wednesday morning which fell vacant after the demise of actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna of the BJP in April 2017. Apart from Congress and BJP, AAP was the third major contestant in the by-poll and had pitted Major General (Retired) Suresh Khajaria against the two parties.


# Gurdaspur Lok Sabh by-poll: Congress achieved the grand victory against Modi government's politics, said Rahul Gandhi. 

# Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi congratulated Sunil Jakhar for massive victory in Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll.

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha By-poll: Punjab Congress won 4,99,752 votes, BJP 3,06,533 votes and AAP received 23,579 votes.

# The Gurdaspur by-election marks another major step in the revival of Congress; it's clear that the party is on upswing ahead of 2019 LS polls

Assure people of Gurdaspur that every single promise made by Sunil Jakhar will be fulfilled and all development works will be fast-tracked: Captain Amarinder Singh.

# Congratulations to Sunil Jakhar for his impressive win in Gurdaspur bypoll, it's a victory for Congress's Punjab policies & development agenda, said Punjab Cm Captain Amarinder Singh.

# Congress's Sunil Jakhar wins Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Bypoll by 1,93,219 votes.

# Gurdaspur By-poll: Sunil Jakhar of Congress leads by 1.7 lakh votes.

Gurdaspur By-pollThis is a beautiful Diwali gift, packed with a red ribbon, for our would be party president Rahul Gandhi: Navjot Sidhu 

People of Gurdaspur have sent a strong message of their resentment to policies pursued by Modi Ji led Centre: Sunil Jakhar

# Sunil Jakhar thanked voters and Congress party for the massive lead

Congress workers and leaders celebrate as party leads by more than 1 lakh votes

People of Gurdaspur have sent a strong message of their resentment to policies pursued by Modi Ji led Centre: Sunil Jakhar 

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha By-poll: Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar now leads by 1,08,230 votes. Counting underway.

Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Bypoll: Congress's Sunil Jakhar now leads by 94,161 votes 

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll: Congress leads by 61172 votes

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll: Congress now leads by 56643 votes

Punjab: Congress's Sunil Jakhar extends lead, now is ahead by 42718 votes in Gurdaspur Lok Sabha Constituency by-poll

# After completion of first round of Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll, Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar leads by 14316 votes

Punjab: Congress leading in Gurdaspur LS bypoll, BJP second and AAP third. Counting underway

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll: Counting of votes has begun

# Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll: Counting of votes set to begin

Two counting centres have been set up for the counting of votes. For six assembly constituencies of Gurdaspur district, counting center has been set up at Sukhjindra College, Gurdaspur and for three assembly constituencies of Pathankot district, counting centre has been set up at the SD College in Pathankot.  

The Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat has nine Assembly segments-- Bhoa, Pathankot, Gurdaspur, Dinanagar, Qadian, FathegarhChurian, Dera Baba Nanak, Sujanpur and Batala.

Congress candidate Sunil Jakhar had earlier claimed the by-poll would be a "referendum" on the Modi government. The BJP had also tried pulling out all the stops to retain the seat, which Khanna had won four times on its ticket.

A victory would give a much-needed boost to the BJP, which had bagged just one segment of Sujanpur out of the four seats it had contested in the assembly polls. 

The AAP, the main opposition party in Punjab with 20seats in the House, was also looking to strengthen itspresence in the state with victory in the by-poll. 

The high-stakes Gurdaspur Lok Sabha by-poll recorded a 56per cent voter turnout on October 11, lower than 70.03 percent recorded in the 2014 general elections.

Out of nine assembly segments falling in Gurdaspur LokSabha seat, Dera Baba Nanak Vidhan Sabha constituency had registered maximum voting percentage at 65 percent while the Batala Vidhan Sabha constituency had witnessed lowest voting percentage at 50 percent.

The polling percentage in the nine assembly segments was also lower than what was recorded in 2017 assembly elections. Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat has been a stronghold of the BJP. Actor-turned-politician Vinod Khanna had remained four-time MP from Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat. Khanna had died of cancer at a hospital in Mumbai on 27 April 2017.

With PTI inputs 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 15 Oct 2017, 08:38:25 AM