News Nation Logo

Jairam Thakur takes oath as Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister

Jairam Thakur Took Oath As Himachal Pradesh's Chief Minister In A Swearing-in Ceremony Attended By PM Modi And BJP's Top Brass At The Ridge Road In Shimla.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 27 Dec 2017, 12:35:46 PM

New Delhi:

Jairam Thakur took oath as Himachal Pradesh's Chief Minister in a swearing-in ceremony attended by PM Modi and BJP's top brass at the Ridge Road in Shimla.

Five-time MLA Jairam Thakur will be the 13th chief minister of Himachal Pradesh. The 52-year-old Thakur leader beat several party stalwarts in the race to the top office and will be the first leader from the politically-significant Mandi region to helm the hill state.

His name was announced by the party’s central observers and Union Ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Tomar and JP Nadda in the presence of State party in-charge Mangal Pandey, all MPs and other senior leaders at a meeting in Shimla.

About 1,000 security men have been deployed on security duty besides intelligence men in plain clothes. Security has been beefed up and sharp shooters have been deployed at several locations and all entry points at interstate borders are under vigil, DGP Somesh Goyal said.

Here are the Live updates: 

# Oath taking ceremony ends with the national anthem 

# Rajiv Sejal sworn in as minister

# Vikram Singh sworn in as minister

# Virender Kanwar sworn-in as minister 

#Virender Kanwar, who won from Kutlehar seat, had earlier offered to resign as a MLA to allow PK Dhumal to become the chief minister. 

# Ram lal Markandaye and Vipin Singh Parmar sworn-in as ministers

# Sarveen Chaudhary being sworn-in as minister

# Anil Sharma takes oath of office and secrecy

# Suresh Bharadwaj takes oath as a minister. Suresh has taken oath in Sanskirt

# Mahendra Singh, Kishan Kapoor and Suresh Bhardwaj take oath as cabinet ministers

# Jairam Thakur takes oath as the Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

# Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh & UP CM Yogi Adityanath present for soon to begin oath taking ceremony of Himachal Pradesh CM elect; PM Narendra Modi to arrive shortly

# Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives in Himachal Pradesh's Shimla, received by CM elect Jairam Thakur

# Mahendra Singh, Suresh Bhardwaj, Anil Sharma, Sarveen Choudhary, Ram Lal Markand, Vipin Singh Parmar, Virender Kanwar, Vikram Singh, Govind Singh and Rajiv Sahjal to take oath as cabinet ministers along with CM elect Jairam Thakur shortly

# Prime Minister Narendra Modi arrives in Chandigarh; he will be attending swearing in ceremony of HP CM elect and others at Ridge ground in Shimla

# Ridge ground in Shimla all geared up for the swearing in ceremony of CM elect JairamThakur and others HimachalPradesh

# Nearly 14 helicopters will be flying to Shimla to ferry chief ministers, deputy chief ministers and central ministers, besides three with the prime minister.

# "Would have been happy if my father would have been here today," says Jai Ram Thakur

# "People have shown faith in us, will try to meet their expectations": Jai Ram Thakur

# People start gathering at the venue of the swearing in ceremony in Shimla

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Dec 2017, 09:19:03 AM