News Nation Logo


Live | Presidential election 2017: Voting underway across India; PM Narendra Modi casts his vote

The 14th Presidential Election Is Taking Place On Monday. NDA’s Candidate Ram Nath Kovind And Opposition’s Candidate Meira Kumar Are In The Fray For The Country’s Top Constitutional Post.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Ashish Ranjan | Updated on: 17 Jul 2017, 03:51:25 PM
Presidential poll 2017: Ram Nath Kovind, Meira Kumar in contest (Image: ANI)

New Delhi:

The 14th Presidential election is taking place on Monday. NDA’s candidate Ram Nath Kovind and opposition’s candidate Meira Kumar are in the fray for the country’s top constitutional post.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday congratulated Ram Nath Kovind apart from assuring him of his government's complete support.

At a meeting of the NDA MPs which was also attended by Kovind, Modi recalled that the former Bihar governor had worked as an aide of Morarji Desai when he was the Prime Minister.

Kovind has received nearly two-thirds of the Electoral College, with some political parties even outside the NDA fold throwing their weight behind him. Samajwadi Party mentor Mulayam Singh Yadav too is likely to support the NDA candidate.

Live updates from the President's election 

#3:15 PM

It's vote against injustice. For sake of country we urge everyone to not support BJP & stand beside ppl: WB CM Mamata Banerjee 

# 2:10 PM 

Mumbai: Maharashtra CM Devendra Fadnavis casts his vote in Maharashtra Legislative Assembly for Presidential poll 2017

# 2:00 PM

Telangana CM KC Rao casts his vote in Hyderabad for Presidential poll 2017

# 1:45 PM

Hundred per cent polling was recorded in the voting for the presidential election in Himachal with all 67 MLAs casting their vote

# 1:32 PM

By voting for Ram Nath Kovind, we have registered our protest against crimes of CPI(M), Congress and TMC: Ashish Saha, TMC on cross voting

# 1:28 PM

We have decided that we should vote for Ram Nath Kovind in Presidential election, says Shivpal Yadav

# 12:34 PM

Fighting battle of ideologies, had urged collegium to listen to voice of their conscience and decision will be taken in India's favor: Meira Kumar

# 12:17 PM

Bhubaneswar: Odisha CM Naveen Biju Patnaik casts his vote for Presidential election at Odisha Assembly

# 11:45 AM

All NCP MPs & MLAs have voted for Meira Kumar: NCP's Praful Patel

# 11:20 AM

Andhra Pradesh CM N Chandrababu Naidu cast his vote for Presidential poll 2017 in Amaravati

# 11:16 AM

Seems NDA Presidential candidate will come through. Happy that vast majority of votes from WB will go to Meira Kumar: S Chatterjee, Former LS Speaker

# 11:00 AM

Bhopal: Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan arrives at MP Assembly to cast his vote for Presidential poll 2017


# 10:52 AM

Guwahati: Voting for Presidential poll 2017 underway at Assam Legislative Assembly; CM Sarbananda Sonowal also cast his vote

# 10:49 AM

DMK working president MK Stalin casts his vote at Tamil Nadu Assembly for Presidential poll 2017

# 10:48 PM

Voting has begun for Presidential election, there is no doubt in Ram Nath Kovind winning it, says UP CM Yogi Adityanath

# 10:33 PM

Jailed MLAs Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam will be brought to Maharashtra Legislative Assembly from prison for voting in Presidential election

# 10:23 AM

Lucknow: UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath arrives at UP Assembly

# 10:23 AM

No matter who wins, President will be from Scheduled Caste. Huge victory for our movement and party: BSP President Mayawati

# 10:22 AM

Presidential Election 2017: MLAs queue up at Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly to cast their votes

# 10:21 AM

Delhi: Members of Parliament line up to cast their votes for Presidential poll 2017

# 10:15 AM

Delhi: PM Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah cast their votes at the Parliament for Presidential poll 2017

# 10:10 AM

Prime Minister Narendra Modi casts his vote 

# 10:05 AM

Delhi: BJP President Amit Shah arrives at the Parliament

# 10:00 AM

Voting begins for Presidential election

# 9:50 AM

Bengaluru: Preparations underway at Karnataka Legislative Assembly ahead of the Presidential Election

# 9:40 AM

Ram Nath Kovind ji will win with a comfortable & respectable margin: Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu

# 9:32 AM

 Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah to cast their votes at 10 am in the Parliament

Know all who are supporting Ram Nath Kovind apart from NDA allies:

# AIADMK – Tamil Nadu CM Edapaddi Palanisami has announced support for Kovind

# O. Panneerselvam, rebel leader too put his weight behind the NDA candidate

# Biju Janata Dal chief and Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik

# Bihar CM Nitish Kumar who’s also the chief of Janata Dal (United)

# K. Chandrashekhar Rao of Telangana Rashtra Samithi

On the other hand, Congress president and UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi said that the presidential election on Monday demands a "vote of conscience" as it represents a clash of ideas and conflict of disparate values.

She further claimed that the electoral contest was the opposition's fight against a "narrow-minded, divisive and communal vision" while addressing a gathering of opposition parties here where its presidential and vice presidential nominees, Meira Kumar and Gopal Krishna Gandhi respectively, were formally introduced.

Know all who are supporting Meira Kumar apart from UPA allies:

# Trinamool Congress -  West Bengal CM and chief Mamata Banerjee has announced support for Meira Kumar

# AAP – Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal too has offered support to the UPA candidate

Ram Nath Kovind:

The NDA's presidential pick Ram Nath Kovind assured all MPs and MLAs that he would act in an "impartial manner" and upkeep the dignity of the office of the President.

He further said the President's post is above party politics as it is the highest constitutional post of the country.

Kovind said that once he became the Governor of Bihar, he did not remain member of any political party and he performed all his duties as governor as per the Constitution.       

Meira Kumar:

Meira Kumar, the opposition's presidential candidate, said that she had respect for her rival NDA contestant Ram Nath Kovind, but the upcoming election was a battle of two ideologies.

She said that it was a sad situation that the presidential poll was being dubbed as a 'Dalit vs Dalit' contest. Kumar lamented that since the battle this time was between her and former Bihar governor Kovind, both of whom were Dalits, nothing else was being discussed apart from their caste.

Kumar went a step further as she described India as a multi-religious country, where the people followed different faiths. She added that it was "unfortunate" that the country was divided on the basis of caste and creed.

Moreover, she pledged to fight against all sorts of communalism and discrimination prevalent in the country.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 Jul 2017, 07:01:00 AM