News Nation Logo


West Bengal Panchayat Election Results: 'TMC strong at grassroot level,' says ecstatic Mamata after win

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 17 May 2018, 08:56:46 PM
TMC is hoping for a clean sweep in the Zila Parishads with seat expectancy of around 75 per cent

New Delhi:

Counting for West Bengal Panchayat elections started from 8 am on Thursday. Ballot boxes were used instead of EVMs for the elections. In total, the counting is held across 271 centres of the 20 districts of the state.

The ruling party Trinamool Congress has already won 34 per cent of the seats in Gram Panchayat uncontested.

According to the results available till now, the TMC is set to win all the 20 Zila Parishads with a clean sweep, with a possibility of winning more than 80 per cent of the Panchayat Samiti and Gram Panchayat samiti seats. Whereas, the BJP is coming out as the distant second followed by the Left.

The West Bengal Panchayat polls witnessed massive violence, blood fights among the parties, with the opposition accusing the TMC of deploying dirty tactics, and the counting days were also the same. The violence resulted police personnel Lathi charge the TMC and the BJP workers who clashed outside a counting centre at Birbhum.

The repolling was done in a single phase on Monday. The polling was overshadowed by violence which saw at least 12 people losing their lives. In return, PM Modi sternly criticised the ruling TMC in the state.

The West Bengal Panchayat system is three-tiered, with 20 Zila Parishad, under it comes 9240 Panchayat Samiti and the 48650 Gram Panchayat are at the lowest level of the tier.

The TMC will be hoping for a clean sweep in the Zila Parishads with seat expectancy of around 75 per cent in Panchayat Samiti and Gram Panchayats.

The BJP’s performance in this election is a one to watch, with many believing that they will emerge as the second biggest political party in West Bengal.

The TMC won 13 of the 17 Zila Parishads in 2013. They also won 57 per cent of Panchayat Samitis and 51 per cent of the Gram Panchayats.

The Live Update of the Results:

# 08:20 PM: I condemn horse trading, in general, as it's bad for all. We always respect democratic institutions. Problem is today somebody may come in power & tomorrow he may not be in power but if we violate the constitution, it's going to have an adverse effect on us: WB CM Mamata Banerjee

# 08:10 PM: TMC has emerged victorious in 90% seats despite the opposition parties coming together. This shows how strong we are at the grassroot level: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee

Zilla Parishad:

TMC- 351

BJP- 9

Left- 2

Cong- 4

Others - 0

Panchayat Samiti:

TMC - 3541





Gram Panchayat

TMC- 24254

BJP- 1957

Left - 486

Cong- 196

Others- 511

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 17 May 2018, 04:02:02 PM