News Nation Logo

Maha Vikas Aghadi To Announce Deputy Chief Minister’s Name After December 22: Praful Patel

Nationalist Congress Party Praful Patel On Saturday Said That The Deputy Chief Minister Post In The Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress Alliance Is NCP’s Share And It Will Be Filled After Nagpur Assembly Session Concludes Next Month.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 30 Nov 2019, 04:52:20 PM
Maha Vikas Aghadi to announce Deputy Chief Minister’s Name After December 22: Praful Patel

New Delhi:

Ahead of the floor test of the newly formed Uddhav Thackeray-led government in Maharashtra Assembly, Nationalist Congress Party Praful Patel on Saturday said that the Deputy Chief Minister post in the Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress alliance is NCP’s share and it will be filled after Nagpur Assembly session concludes next month.

Speaking to the media, Praful Patel said, "Deputy Chief Minister post is with NCP and we will fill up the post after Nagpur Assembly session which will end around December 22.” He further expressed the confidence that Maha Vikas Aghadi will prove its majority as it has the support of over 170 MLAs.

Meanwhile, NCP’s state unit president Jayant Patil said that the party is yet to decide who from the party will be the deputy chief minister of Maharashtra. "The deputy chief minister will be from the NCP. But Pawar Saheb will decide who will be hold that post. That decision is yet to be taken. Why are you in a hurry?" Patil told reporters.

Answering to the question of being deputy chief minister of the state, NCP’s Ajit Pawar said, "I will take whatever responsibility the party will give to me."

It is worth mentioning here that deputy chief minister's post has come the NCP's way as per the power-sharing formula in the Uddhav Thackeray-led Shiv Sena-NCP-Congress government, while the Congress has got the Assembly Speaker's post.

Also Read: Maharashtra LIVE: Floor Test Proceedings Begin Amid Uproar By BJP MLAs

On Thursday, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray was sworn in as Maharashtra Chief Minister along with two ministers each from the Sena, NCP, and Congress.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 30 Nov 2019, 02:25:09 PM