News Nation Logo

Maharashtra: Day After Quitting As Deputy CM, Ajit Pawar Attends NCP Meet, 'Guides' Newly Elected MLAs

We Discussed The Confidence Motion. Dada (Ajit Pawar) Also Attended The Meeting. He Guided Us Besides (Sunil) Tatkare Saheb And (NCP State Chief) Jayant Patil Saheb,' Dhananjay Munde Said.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Victor Dasgupta | Updated on: 27 Nov 2019, 04:52:42 PM
Ajit Pawar at NCP MLAs meet

New Delhi:

Ajit Pawar, who recently resigned from the post of deputy chief minister of Maharashtra under the Fadnavis government, on Wednesday took oath as an elected member of legislative assembly of NCP. “As an elected Member of Legislative Assembly of @NCPspeaks, took oath in Vidhansabha today. Pledged to respect & have faith in our Constitution, maintain the sovereignty & unity of our country while fulfilling all my duties diligently,” he tweeted.

Ajit Pawar also attended the NCP MLAs meet where he guided the newly elected MLAs.

The leaders discussed issues relating to Thursday’s swearing-in ceremony of Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray as chief minister, Assembly Speaker’s election, confidence motion and programmes to be organised to mark NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s 80th birthday on December 12, he said.

“We discussed the confidence motion. Dada (Ajit Pawar) also attended the meeting. He guided us besides (Sunil) Tatkare saheb and (NCP state chief) Jayant Patil saheb,” Munde, the MLA from Parli seat, told reporters.

“Dada said we are united. I had said earlier too.  (Sharad) Pawar Saheb’s leadership is the ultimate leadership,” Munde added.

Senior party leaders Chhagan Bhujbal and Dilip Walse Patil were also present at the meeting, held at the Y B Chavan Centre here ahead of the swearing-in ceremony of Thackeray as the state’s next chief minister on Thursday evening.

Ajit Pawar, 60, who won the October 21 state polls from Pune’s Baramati seat with a margin of 1.65 lakh votes, shocked his party and family last Saturday after he joined hands with the BJP and became deputy chief minister in the Devendra Fadnavis-led government.

The NCP subsequently sacked him as its legislature unit leader the same day. However, he continues to be a member of the party.

Ajit Pawar on Tuesday resigned as Dy CM citing “personal reasons”, following which Fadnavis too stepped down as chief minister, leading to collapse of the BJP-led government.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Nov 2019, 04:52:42 PM