News Nation Logo


Mayawati keeps suspense over transferring surplus votes

Keeping The Suspense Over Which Way Her 12 Surplus MLAs Will Vote In Rajya Sabha Biennial Polls In Uttar Pradesh On June 11, BSP Supremo Mayawati On Thursday Said The Results Will Show The Voting Pattern.

PTI | Updated on: 09 Jun 2016, 04:29:31 PM


Keeping the suspense over which way her 12 surplus MLAs will vote in Rajya Sabha biennial polls in Uttar Pradesh on June 11, BSP supremo Mayawati on Thursday said the results will show the voting pattern.

"Whom we have supported, whom we have not supported, everything will be clear when the results come out," she told reporters on being asked which way the 12 surplus MLAs will go.

Bahujan Samaj Party has 80 MLAs in the 403-member Assembly and with 34 first preference votes needed for the victory of a candidate, the party can easily ensure success of its two nominees with 12 votes to spare.

For Rajya Sabha, BSP has fielded Satish Chandra Mishra and Ashok Sidharth, while for the Legislative Council its candidates are Atar Singh Rao, Dinesh Chandra and Suresh Kashyap.

In the Legislative Council, where 29 votes are needed for the victory of a candidate, BSP has fielded three candidates and is short of seven votes for the success of its third nominee. Polling for the Legislative Council is slated for June 10.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Jun 2016, 04:26:00 PM