News Nation Logo


BSP to field candidates in all 13 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh bypolls

A List Of 12 Candidates Have Been Finalised And The 13th Name Is Expected To Be Announced By Evening.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Raghwendra Shukla | Updated on: 28 Aug 2019, 04:03:13 PM
BSP to field candidates on all 13 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh bypolls (File Photo)

New Delhi:

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) president Mayawati was today elected unopposed as its chief for the fourth term. She was elected party's national president for her first term on September 18, 2003.

During the meeting, it was also decided that the BSP will field candidates on all the 13 Assembly seat in Uttar Pradesh bypolls. A list of 12 candidates have been finalised and the 13th name is expected to be announced by evening. The candidate for the Jalalpur seat that was won by the BSP in 2017 has not been declared.

The BSP has fielded Naushad Ali from Hamirpur, Qayyum Ansari from the Ghosi seat, Raj Narain Nirala from Manikpur seat, Jubair Masood Khan from Rampur, Abhay Kumar from Aligarh, Ramesh Chandra from Bahraich, Sunil Kumar Chittoor from Firozabad, Arun Dwivedi from Lucknow, Devi Prasad Tiwari from Kanpur Nagar, Rajnarayan from Chitrakoot, Ranjit Singh Patel from Pratapgarh, Akhilesh Ambedkar from Zaidpur, Rakesh Pandey from Ambedkar Nagar and Abdul Qayyum from Mau

Bypolls were necessitated as sitting MLAs were elected as MPs and one MLA Ashok Kumar Singh Chandel was disqualified following conviction in a murder case.

Of the four ministers who contested the Lok Sabha elections, except Mukut Bihari Verma, who lost from Ambedkar Nagar, three others won the poll. They include Rita Bahuguna Joshi from Allahabad, Satyadev Pachauri from Kanpur and SP Singh Baghel from Agra.

Joshi was MLA from Lucknow Cantonment, while Satyadev Pachauri represented Govindnagar (Kanpur). Baghel was the sitting MLA from Tundla (SC) assembly seat.

Among the other BJP legislators, RK Singh Patel won the Banda Lok Sabha seat. He is a legislator from Manikpur assembly seat in the same parliamentary constituency.

Similarly, BJP MLA from Iglas, Rajvir Singh Valmiki Diler won the Hathras Lok Sabha seat and party legislator from Zaidpur, Upendra Rawat won from Barabanki.

BJP legislator from Gangoh, Pradeep Chaudhary won the Kairana Lok Sabha seat, while another legislator from Balha assembly seat, Akshaywar Lal Gaud won from Bahraich.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Aug 2019, 04:03:13 PM