News Nation Logo

Meghalaya Bypoll Results 2019: UDP Candidate Balajied Kupar Synrem Wins Shella Seat

Meghalaya Bypoll Results 2019: Balajied Kupar Synrem Of The United Democratic Party (UDP) Has Sealed The Shella Assembly Seat After Defeating His Opponents By A Huge Margin.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Anurag Singh | Updated on: 24 Oct 2019, 06:04:01 PM
Meghalaya Bypoll Results 2019: UDP Candidate Balajied Kupar Synrem Wins Shella Seat

New Delhi:

Meghalaya Bypoll Results 2019: Balajied Kupar Synrem of the United Democratic Party (UDP) has sealed the Shella Assembly seat after defeating his opponents by a huge margin. Synrem secured 12002 votes and won the bypoll by a margin of 6221 votes. Synrem, the son of former speaker, Dr Donkupar Roy, was leading the race since the first round. The Counting started at 8 am today morning. UDP supporters raised the party flags up high, immersing in the celebrative mood following the victory of Balajied.

On the other hand, Grace Mary Kharpuri, Independent candidate, came second securing 5781 votes. Speaking to media people, Kharpuri said she accepts the people’s verdict. 

Balajied Kupar Synrem (UDP): 12002

Grace Mary Kharpuri (IND): 5781

Mosjo Rockfeller Wanswett (PDF): 4327

Batyngshain Ryngnga (INC): 1715

Joshua Wajri (BJP): 742

Komen Laitmon (IND): 444

NOTA: 188

There were six candidates in the fray including UDP's Balajied Kupar Synrem, Congress candidate Batyngshain Ryngnga, People’s Democratic Front (PDF) Mosjo Wanswet, BJP candidate Joshua Warjri and the two independent candidate Grace Mary Kharpuri and Komen Laitmon. 

The bypoll to the seat in the East Khasi Hills district was necessitated following the death of Synrem's father Donkupar Roy, who was the sitting MLA. Roy was a former chief minister and the speaker of the 10th Meghalaya Assembly. He was also the president of the UDP. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Oct 2019, 07:02:46 AM