News Nation Logo


Mizoram Election Result 2018: CM Lal Thanhawla loses both Serchhip, Champhai South

The Veteran Leader Was The Chief Minister Of The North-eastern State Since The Past 10 Years.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Srishty Choudhury | Updated on: 11 Dec 2018, 11:54:09 PM
The other important parties in the state are Zoramthanga-led Mizo National Front (MNF) and Zoram People's Movement (ZPM).

New Delhi:

Mizoram Assembly Elections 2018: Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla has lost to Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) nominee Lalduhoma in the former’s home turf Serchhip, the election department said on Tuesday. The veteran leader was the chief minister of the north-eastern state for the past 10 years. Lal Thanhawla also lost from Champhai South seat. The lone woman minister of his Cabinet, Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu, also lost to former Assembly Speaker Lalchamliana in Hrangturzo seat. Former chief minister and MNF president Zoramthanga won in the Aizawl East-I seat against ZPM’s K Sapdanga. The ZPM is an alliance formed by two political parties and four groups.

The opposition Mizo National Front (MNF) is leading in 26 constituencies followed by the Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) in eight seats while the ruling Congress is leading in five seats in Mizoram, according to the state election department. The Congress has won five constituencies, down from the 34 seats it had won in the 2013 elections. The only seat the BJP won was Tuichawng, where BD Chakma defeated RM Chakma of the MNF. This is the first time the BJP will have a member in the Mizoram Assembly. BD Chakma was a minister in the Congress government before he switched to the BJP.

Read More | Mizoram Election Result 2018 Live Updates: Congress faces MNF, BJP

Mizoram is the last Congress citadel in the northeastern region. The state has 40 Assembly seats and the voting was held on November 28. More than 7.70 lakh voters had cast their vote. The other important parties in the state are Zoramthanga-led Mizo National Front (MNF) and Zoram People's Movement (ZPM).

As per News Nation Exit Poll, Mizoram is seen as a direct contest between the Congress and MNF as in the previous elections in the state. While the survey gave 16-20 seats to the MNF, Congress is projected to win 10-14 seats. The Zoram People's Movement (ZPM) and the BJP may get 5-9 and 0-4 seats respectively in the state. According to Times Now-CNX Exit Poll, the MNF is likely to win 18 seats in the Assembly. The Congress may win 16 seats. The majority mark in the Assembly is 21 seats. According to C-Voter exit poll, the MNF is predicted to win 16 to 20 seats. The Congress is likely to win 14 to 18 seats. The poll predicted 3 to 7 seats for the ZPM.

Also Read | Rajasthan Assembly Election Results 2018: Will BJP break the jinx?

In the 2013 Assembly polls, the Congress had won 34 seats under the leadership of Lal Thanhawla, while the Mizo National Front (MNF) had won five seats and the Mizoram People’s Conference bagged one seat.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Dec 2018, 07:08:59 AM