News Nation Logo

Modi cabinet reshuffle: Former bureaucrat RK Singh, Hardeep Puri, Alphons, Satya Pal Singh sworn-in as ministers

Two Former Administrative Service Officers — Delhi’s Demolition Man K J Alphons And Union Home Secretary RK Singh — And Ex-Mumbai Commissioner Satyapal Singh Were Sworn-in As Ministers Of State On Sunday.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Neha Singh | Updated on: 03 Sep 2017, 12:04:56 PM
Ex-bureaucrats who successfully made it to Modi's cabinet

New Delhi:

Two former administrative service officers — Delhi’s demolition man K J Alphons and Union home secretary RK Singh — and ex-Mumbai commissioner Satyapal Singh were sworn-in as ministers of state on Sunday.

This is the third cabinet reshuffle since Modi took oath as Prime Minister in 2014.

# Raj Kumar Singh:

Raj Kumar Singh is a Lok Sabha MP from Arrah, Bihar and a Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committees on Health and Family Welfare, Personnel, Pensions and Public Grievances and Law & Justice. Further, he is also a former IAS officer who rose up ranks to become the Home Secretary of India.

# Hardeep Puri:

Hardeep Puri is a former IFS officer of the 1974 batch and the President and Chairman of Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS) think tank. Further, he has also fulfilled the role of the Vice President of International Peace Institute, New York. Moreover, as Head of the Indian Delegation to the UN Security Council, he had served as Chairman of the Counter-Terrorism Committee of the UN and as President of the United Nations Security Council.

# Alphons Kannanthanam:

He is a distinguished former IAS officer of the 1979 batch, Kerala cadre. He is also a practicing advocate. He became famous as Delhi's Demolition Man when he was Commissioner of the Delhi Development Authority, having cleared DDA areas of encroachment removing around 15,000 illegal buildings.

This got him listed in Time Magazine's list of 100 Young Global Leaders in 1994.He pioneered the literacy movement in India as District Collector of Kottayam by making it the first 100% literate town in India in 1989.

Further, he set up Janshakti, an NGO in 1994, to get citizens to believe in their ability to make government accountable to people. Alphons Kannanthanam retired from the IAS, to get elected as an Independent Member of Legislative Assembly for Kanjirappally in Kerala from 2006 to 2011. He is a Member of the Committee to prepare the final draft of the National Education Policy 2017.

# Satya Pal Singh:

Satya Pal Singh is a Lok Sabha MP from Baghpat, Uttar Pradesh. He is a Member of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Home Affairs and Chairperson of the Joint Committee on Offices of Profit. He is a distinguished former IPS officer of the 1980 batch, Maharashtra cadre, and has been recognized with medals like the Antrik Suraksha Sewa Padak by Government of India in 2008 and a Special Service Medal for extraordinary work in the Naxalite areas of Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh in 1990.
Moreover, has also been the Commissioner of Police of Mumbai, Pune and Nagpur – and is credited for breaking the backbone of organised crime syndicates in Mumbai in the 1990s.

Also Read: Modi cabinet reshuffle live: Suresh Prabhu quits as railway minister, thanks rail family

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Sep 2017, 11:42:37 AM