News Nation Logo


Modi Sarkar 2.0 reshuffles top bureaucrats in 12 depts, Finance Secretary SC Garg moved out

Another Big Name In The Reshuffle Is That Of Atanu Chakraborty. In Charge Of The Department Of Investment And Public Asset Management, Chakraborty Has Now Been Appointed As Economic Affairs Secretary.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Surabhi Pandey | Updated on: 25 Jul 2019, 09:58:03 AM
Eleven other officials have been upgraded as special secretaries.


The Narendra Modi government reshuffled top bureaucrats in 12 ministries on Wednesday. This was the first such rejig of the Modi government 2.0. According to multiple media reports, Finance Secretary Subhash Chandra Garg has been moved out. He has been transferred to the power ministry. Another big name in the reshuffle is that of Atanu Chakraborty. In charge of the Department of Investment and Public Asset Management, Chakraborty has now been appointed as economic affairs secretary.

Anil Kumar Khachi, a 1986 batch Himachal Pradesh IAS officer, take over as the disinvestment secretary in the department of investment and public asset management. One of the key highlights of the rejig was appointment of power secretary Ajay Kumar Bhalla as the officer on special duty in the home ministry with immediate effect. Report say that He Bhalla will take over from Rajiv Gauba as the home secretary, after his retirement on August 31st. Guruprasad Mohapatra, the Airports Authority of India chairman, has been appointed as new secretary of the department for promotion of industry and internal trade.

Anshu Prakash, who is currently serving as an additional secretary in the department of telecommunications, has been promoted as the DoT secretary, the official statement said. PD Vaghela, who is at present serving his home cadre in Gujarat, will be the secretary in the ministry of chemicals and fertilizers.  

RS Shukla has been appointed the Secretary, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs against the existing vacancy. Anuradha Mitra has been appointed as secretary (department of official languages) in the home ministry while Ravi Kapoor has been appointed, the government order said. Eleven other officials have been upgraded as special secretaries.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jul 2019, 09:58:03 AM