News Nation Logo


Modi's BJP blooms in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur as saffron surge sweeps nation

The Saffron Surge Started To Blossom In October 2014 When Manohar Khattar Was Sworn In As CM Of Haryana On 26 October After NDA Alliance Of BJP And SAD Won 48 Seats In The State Assembly Elections.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Saurabh Kumar | Updated on: 12 Mar 2017, 09:31:19 AM
Modi's BJP blooms in Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Manipur as saffron surge sweeps nation

New Delhi:

The BJP under the leadership of Amit Shah and PM Modi registered stunning victory on Saturday in Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand, trampling a fragmented opposition that had hoped the demonetisation exercise would have chipped away at Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s popularity.

The augmentation of Saffron Surge in the country is on a rise as BJP had already uprooted Congress government in Jammu & Kashmir, Haryana, Assam, Maharashtra and Rajasthan to be precise.

As of now, BJP is the country's largest political party in terms of representation in the national parliament and state assemblies, and it is the world's largest party in terms of primary membership.

The Saffron surge started to blossom in October 2014 when Manohar Khattar was sworn in as CM of Haryana on 26 October after NDA alliance of BJP and SAD won 48 seats in the state assembly elections.

In Maharashtra, BJP won 122 seats out of 288 to replace Prithviraj Chavan’s Congress government as Devendra Fadnavis took oath as 18th chief minister of the state. In Jammu and Kashmir, BJP joined hands with the People Democratic Party (PDP) to uproot National Conference government in Dec 2014.

The 2016 Assam Assembly election brought a change of power as the Indian National Congress (INC), under Tarun Gogoi lost its majority to the Bharatiya Janata Party led by Sarbananda Sonowal. This was the extension of Saffron surge in the North Eastern state under the able leadership of PM Modi.

As of March 2017, the BJP has a Chief Minister in eleven states: Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra (with Shivsena), Rajasthan, Uttar Pradesh and Uttarakhand.

In four other states, it shares power with other political parties. In all these states, the BJP is the junior ally in the ruling alliance. The states are: Jammu and Kashmir (with Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party), Nagaland (with Naga People’s Front), Andhra Pradesh (with Telugu Desam Party) and Sikkim (with Sikkim Democratic Front).

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 12 Mar 2017, 09:18:00 AM