News Nation Logo

Modi's swearing-in ceremony on May 30: Here is star-studded, high-profile guest list

As Of Now, There Is No Official Confirmation On Whether Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan Will Be Invited To Modi’s Swearing-in Ceremony Or Not.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 27 May 2019, 09:27:12 PM
Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses following a meeting with President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan (Photo Source: PTI)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses following a meeting with President Ram Nath Kovind at Rashtrapati Bhavan (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be administered oath of office for his second consecutive term along with his new council of ministers on May 30. President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the prime minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhavan on Thursday at 7 pm.

As all eyes are now on Thursday’s oath taking ceremony and speculations have been rife about the names of possible invitees, let’s have a quick look at the guest list drawn up for the mega event on May 30.

  • World leaders who are going to attend PM Modi’s swearing-in ceremony:

While the Indian government has invited all the leaders of the BIMSTEC member states for the ceremony, Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina is going to give it a miss for his scheduled trip to East Asia from May 28. Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Huq, who is the senior-most Cabinet member of the Bangladesh government, will attend the ceremony on behalf of Hasina.

However, leaders from other BIMSTEC member states, such as Myanmar, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Nepal and Bhutan are expected to mark attendance in the programme.

Therefore, the list of international guests includes Myanmar Prime Minister Aung San Suu Kyi and her Sri Lankan, Thai, Nepali and Bhutan counterparts Ranil Wickremesinghe, Prayut Chan-o-cha, KP Sharma Oli and Lotay Tshering.

Bhutan President Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck, Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena, Bangladesh President Abdul Hamid and Thailand President Win Myint may also take part in the event.

Other prominent faces from international politics include President of the Kyrgyz Republic Sooronbay Jeenbekov and Prime Minister of Mauritius Pravind Jugnauth.

As of now, there is no official confirmation on whether Pakistani Prime Minister Imran Khan will be invited to Modi’s swearing-in ceremony or not. While one can remember that Khan's predecessor Nawaz Sharif had accepted Modi's invitation in 2014, this time India is unlikely to invite Pakistan on the heels of Pulwama and Balakot in late February.

  • Indian politicians who will take part in the event:

As per the media reports several top NDA leaders, including SAD leader Prakash Singh Badal, JD-U chief Nitish Kumar, LJP leader Ram Vilas Paswan, Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, AIADMK’s K Palaniswami and NPP’s Conrad Sangma are likely to be present alongside BJP leaders.

Besides, the government has also extended invitation to Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and Andhra Pradesh CM-designate YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

  • Celebrities who are likely to mark attendance:

Apart from political bigwigs, the top stars of Tamil cinema, Rajinikanth and Kamal Haasan, have been also invited for the May 30 swearing-in of Narendra Modi.

Modi is the first BJP leader who has been elected for the second time after completion of his five-year tenure, a feat so far achieved only by two Congress leaders - Jawaharlal Nehru and Indira Gandhi.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 May 2019, 09:27:12 PM