News Nation Logo


Goa politics: CM Pramod Sawant wins floor test with support of 20 MLAs

The Congress, Which Is The Single Largest Party With 14 MLAs, Had Also Staked Claim To Form The Government.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Abhinav Gupta | Updated on: 20 Mar 2019, 01:39:35 PM
Pramod Sawant taking oath as Goa Chief Minister


The new BJP-led government in Goa is currently facing the floor test in the state Assembly today to prove its majority. The trust vote comes a day after Speaker Pramod Sawant was sworn in as chief minister with an unprecedented two deputies past midnight capping a frenetic day of political wrangling.

According to reports, the BJP shifted all its lawmakers in the state to a resort ahead of the trust vote earlier today. 

The government claims majority with the support of 21 MLAs--12 from the BJP, three each of allies Goa Forward Party (GFP) and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and three Independents.

The strength of the 40-member House has been reduced to 36 following the death of Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar and BJP MLA Francis D'Souza and resignations of two Congress MLAs Subhash Shirodkar and Dayanand Sopte.

The Congress, which is the single largest party with 14 MLAs, had also staked claim to form the government. There is also an NCP legislator in the House.

Here are the highlights on the floor test in Goa Assembly:

  • Chief Minister Pramod Sawant wins floor test with support of 20 MLAs. 
  • Vote of confidence will be held after condolence motions to honour former chief minister Manohar Parrikar, former Mapusa MLA Francis D'Souza and former deputy speaker Vishnu Surya Wagh are moved and later passed by the 36 member house.
  • Ahead of the floor test, newly-elected Chief Minister Pramod Saant said he was 100 per cent confident of winning the trust vote.
  • As per the power-sharing arrangement reached by the BJP with allies, an MLA each from the two smaller parties backing the saffron party--GFP chief Vijai Sardesai and MGP's Sudin Dhavalikar--were made deputy chief minister. It is for the first time that a tiny state like Goa has two deputy chief ministers.
  • Besides Sawant, Sardesai and Dhavalikar, the others who were sworn in were Mauvin Godinho, Vishwajit Rane, Milind Naik and Nilesh Cabral(all BJP), Palekar and Jayesh Salgaonkar(both GFP), Manohar Ajgaonkar(MGP) and Independent MLAs Rohan Khaunte and Govind Gawade.
  • BJP president Amit Shah and Union minister Nitin Gadkari played a critical behind-the-scene role in ensuring that the party retained power in Goa, sources familiar with the developments said.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 20 Mar 2019, 07:09:21 AM