News Nation Logo


Nine disqualified MLAs can't participate in confidence vote, rules HC

In A Boost To Sacked Chief Minister Harish Rawat, The Uttarakhand High Court Today Dismissed The Petition Of Nine Congress MLAs Against Their Disqualification, A Decision That Will Bar Them From Participating In The Confidence Vote Proceedings In The Assembly On Tuesday.

PTI | Updated on: 09 May 2016, 10:42:17 AM


In a boost to sacked Chief Minister Harish Rawat, the Uttarakhand High Court today dismissed the petition of nine Congress MLAs against their disqualification, a decision that will bar them from participating in the confidence vote proceedings in the Assembly on Tuesday.

Justice U C Dhyani pronounced his order on the petition challenging Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal's decision disqualifying them after they joined hands with the BJP during proceedings on the Appropriation Bill on March 18.

Today's order of the high court ensures that their disqualification stays and will keep the rebel MLAs out of the proceedings during the confidence vote for Rawat in the Assembly tomorrow ordered by the Supreme Court last week.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 May 2016, 10:39:00 AM