News Nation Logo

No-confidence motion: All you need to know about dramatic debate in Lok Sabha today

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 20 Jul 2018, 12:20:03 AM
No-confidence motion: Dramatic debate in Lok Sabha tomorrow (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

Ahead of Friday's no-confidence motion, the Congress-led oppositions, as well as BJP allies, have issued whips to their MPs, asking them to be present in Lok Sabha during the trust vote and no-confidence debate.

While BJP, TMC and TDP on Wednesday issued three-line whips seeking their MPs' attendance in Lok Sabha, the Congress, AAP and some BJP allies allotted the same on Thursday.

On July 17, senior Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge announced that all opposition parties have come to a consensus to move the no-confidence motion in the monsoon session.

The ruling BJP, however, is confident about their majority in the House and said that the Congress would be proven wrong yet again in the trust vote in Parliament, similar to the situation in 1999.

Meanwhile, the BJP's conviction got another booster after Shiv Sena and other BJP allies such as Akali Dal, Ram Vilas Paswan’s Lok Janshakti Party, Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) have announced their support for the saffron party. BJP, on its own, has a strength of 273 MPs to dismiss opposition's no-confidence challenge.

Read | Shiv Sena will act on Uddhav Thackeray's direction: MP Arvind Sawant on no-confidence debate

Though Friday's debate between the Centre and oppositions seems to be a clear shutdown for the Congress, party chief Rahul Gandhi will reportedly take part in the debate. With only one day left for the dramatic show in Lok Sabha, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi along with other senior leaders was seen formulating the strategy for the same.

Meanwhile, different political parties have been provided with different time-slot for Friday's no-confidence debate in Lok Sabha. "Time allotted for debate tomorrow: BJP- 3 hours 33 minutes,Congress-38 minutes,AIADMK-29 minutes,TMC-27 minutes,-BJD-15, Shiv Sena-14,TDP-13,TRS-9 #NoConfidenceMotion," the news agency ANI reported.

"Time allotted for debate tomorrow: CPIM 7 minutes, SP- 6 minutes, NCP- 6 minutes, LJSP-5 minutes," the report added.

The motion will be the first since the BJP-led NDA government came to power four years ago. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepted the motion moved by former BJP ally TDP and others on the first day of the Monsoon session Tuesday.

Read | Parliament on high alert amid Khalistani terror attack plan

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP president N Chandrababu Naidu had sought the support of other parties for the motion, citing the NDA government's "non-fulfilment of the promise" to grant special status to his state.

The historical debate will on Friday take place in Lok Sabha from 11 am 6 pm followed by PM Modi's speech in the House. Post that, the voting on the no-confidence motion will be held in the evening.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 Jul 2018, 08:06:23 PM