News Nation Logo


Office of profit case: EC reserves order on plea of 21 AAP MLAs

The 21 AAP MLAs Are Facing Prospects Of Disqualification For Allegedly Holding Office Of Profit.

PTI | Updated on: 27 Mar 2017, 09:03:54 PM

New Delhi :

The Election Commission on Monday reserved its order against 21 Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLAs after concluding the hearing in office of profit case on Monday. The Delhi high court had already set aside their appointment as parliamentary secretaries.

The 21 AAP MLAs are facing prospects of disqualification for allegedly holding office of profit.

At the fourth hearing of final arguments on a petition seeking the disqualification of AAP lawmakers today, the Commission said it is reserving the order on whether the office of profit case should continue against the AAP lawmakers.

The order is expected in the coming days. While AAP said after the Delhi High Court ruling the case should be dropped against them, the petitioner, Prashant Patel, maintained that the court order should have no bearing on the case being heard by the EC as they were enjoying the fruits of that office till their appointment was set aside by the high court.

On September 8, the high court had set aside the appointment of 21 party MLAs as parliamentary secretaries. The court had said the order to appoint them as parliamentary secretaries was given without the concurrence of the Lieutenant Governor.

A bench of Chief Justice G Rohini and Justice Sangita Dhingra Sehgal had set aside the March 13, 2015 order after the counsel appearing for the Delhi government “conceded” that it was issued without taking concurrence or views of the LG.

Also Read | Jaitley criminal defamation case: Kejriwal, Kumar Vishwas, Sanjay Singh, Raghav Chaddha, 2 other AAP leaders put on trial

The poll panel had heard the case on December 16 last before it got busy with assembly elections in five states.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Mar 2017, 08:48:00 PM

Related Tags:

AAP Election Commission