News Nation Logo


Padma Vibhushan To Be Awarded To Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, George Fernandes Posthumously

Former Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, Industrialists Anand Mahindra And Venu Shrinivasan, Olympian Badminton Player PV Sindhu, Former Nagaland Chief Minister SC Jamir And Jammu And Kashmir Politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig Have Been Awarded With The Padma Bhushan.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 25 Jan 2020, 10:17:39 PM
Padma Vibhushan

Arun Jaitley anmd Sushma Swaraj, Mary Kom (Photo Credit: File)

New Delhi:

Eminent personalities, including former union ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes, Olympian boxer Mary Kom, former Mauritius prime minister Anerood Gugnauth have been honoured with the Padma Vibhushan on the Republic Day this year, officials said on Saturday.

Former Defence minister Manohar Parrikar, Industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Shrinivasan, Olympian badminton player P V Sindhu, former Nagaland chief minister SC Jamir and Jammu and Kashmir politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig have been awarded with the Padma Bhushan, they said.

Jaitley, Swaraj, Fernandes and Parrikar have been given the award posthumously, the officials said.

The Padma Vibhushan for this year has been awarded to a total of seven prominent personalities, while 16 have been given the Padma Bhushan, 118 have been given the Padma Shri on the 71st Republic Day this year, they said. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jan 2020, 08:56:01 PM