News Nation Logo

Parliament Monsoon Session Highlights: No trust motion accepted in LS, to be discussed on Friday

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 18 Jul 2018, 11:17:59 PM
Parliament Monsoon Session 2018 Highlights: Oppositions move No-confidence motion against NDA government (File Photo)

New Delhi:

With the Monsoon Session of Parliament began on Wednesday, the opposition parties led by the Congress have moved a no-confidence motion against Narendra Modi's NDA government.

The government said it is ready to face the Opposition’s challenge.

"The BJP and the NDA will face the no-confidence motion, which the opposition wants to bring, under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi," Union Minister of Parliamentary Affairs Ananth Kumar told the media on Tuesday soon after an all-party meeting which was attended by Prime Minister Modi.

The Congress was working to move the motion and is in the process of filing a notice in this regard, sources said.

Mallikarjun Kharge, Leader of the Congress in the Lok Sabha said it will demand special status to Andhra Pradesh other than raising issues such as atrocities against women and Dalits and lynchings, adding that the attempts to put an end to the reservation policy and the falling value of the rupee will also be raised in the session.

Issues like mob lynchings, unemployment, farmers distress, alleged tampering of EVMs, women safety, farmers distress, the Jammu and Kashmir situation and government’s foreign policy are likely to be raised during the Monsoon Session which will conclude on August 10.

Highlights on Parliament Monsoon Session 2018:

# 15:50: No confidence motion is a very important aspect of Parliament. We had requested the speaker & govt to change the date. We protested but couldn't convince them. So, all MPs have been asked to come to Delhi. Whip also will be issued: Dinesh Trivedi, TMC

# 15:45: 21st of July is a very important day for TMC. We observe it as a martyrs day for 14 youth TMC workers who were killed. All 34 MPs of TMC are therefore busy: Dinesh Trivedi, TMC

# 15:40: All India Trinamool Congress (TMC) issues whip to its MPs over No Confidence Motion

# 15:20: BJP issues three-line whip over No-Confidence Motion, also asks its allies in NDA to issue whip

# 15: 10: Opposition doesn't have numbers but have people who will tell others how govt has be-fooled the nation: RG Yadav, SP

# 15:05 : I think such over confidence will serve no purpose. We will show clear majority on July 20. We will win comfortably and show our strength to the opposition: Union Minister Ramdas Athawale on Sonia Gandhi's statement "Who says we don't have the numbers?" over No Confidence motion

# 15:00 : TMC leaders have requested Sumitra Mahajan to postpone the discussion on no-confidence motion on Monday as most of the party leaders will be away in West Bengal. "At least 35 leaders will be missing from the discussion," the party leader said. Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge also requested Mahajan to postpone the discussion to Wednesday.  

# 14:10 : Discussions on the no-confidence motion against the government are likely to be taken up on Friday in Lok Sabha and on Monday in Rajya Sabha. While TDP has moved a no-trust vote over special status to Andhra Pradesh, Congress and other Opposition parties have tried to corner the government over issues like mob lynching, atrocities against Dalit etc

# 13:25 : Congress MP Shashi Tharoor says 'I will not withdraw any of my statements, instead those who attacked my office should tender an apology.'

# 13:15 : Both Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha have been adjourned till 2 pm. The Houses will resume after lunch. 

# 12:40 PM: Dr M Thambi Durai, Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha condemns the attack on Shashi Tharoor's office and urged Parliament Minister Ananth Kumar to tighen the security of Parliamentarians. 

# 12:30 PM: It (attack on his office) wasn't only an attack on constitutionally provided office but larger attempt by ruling party to destroy idea of India & accepting pluralism. Swami Agnivesh was also attacked. We shouldn't stand by as mob lynching & hooliganism rule democracy, says Shashi Tharoor in Lok Sabha

# 12:20 PM: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan accepts the No Confidence Motion moved by opposition parties, including Congress and TDP.

# 12:10 PM: Nominated Rajya Sabha MP, boxer MC Mary Kom arrived at Parliament earlier today for Monsoon Session.

# 11:46 AM: Samajwadi Party and Telugu Desam Party MPs protest in the well of the House in Lok Sabha over different issues (mob lynching cases and demand for special status for Andhra Pradesh)

# 11:43 AM: 'The govt which led farmers to commit suicide, under whose regime women are being raped everyday...we move no confidence motion against you,' says Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia in Lok Sabha.

# 11:42 AM: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 12 pm after protest by TDP MPs over special status demand for Andhra Pradesh

# 11:35 AM: As Speaker Sumitra Mahajan began taking questions during the Question Hour, few MPs from the Opposition created a disturbance by raising slogans over mob lynching, Dalit atrocities etc.

# 11:28 AM: Monsoon Session of Parliament is underway in Lok Sabha amidst sloganeering by members of opposition over recent cases of mob lynching.

# 11:10 AM: Classical Dancer Sonal Mansingh, Author Rakesh Sinha and Sculptor Raghunath Mohapatra take oath as nominated members of Rajya Sabha.

# 11:00 AM: Many important decisions in the nation's interest will be taken up in the Monsoon Session of Parliament. We hope for good suggestions and discussions from all experienced members, says PM Modi

# 10:50 AM: We hope that the Monsoon session of Parliament functions smoothly, whatever issues any party has, it can raise on the floor of the house. Government is ready for discussion on all issues, says PM Modi

# 10:35 AM: YSR Congress MPs protest at Gandhi statue in Parliament, demanding special status for Andhra Pradesh

# 10:30 AM: External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj and Home Minister Rajnath Singh arrive in Parliament

# 10:20 AM: Meeting of Telugu Desam Party(TDP) MPs underway at YS Choudhary's residence in Delhi.

# 10:05 AM: CPI MP D Raja has given adjournment motion notice in Rajya Sabha over cases of mob lynching and attack on Swami Agnivesh.

# 10:00 AM: After TMC in Rajya Sabha, now RJD MP JP Yadav has also given an adjournment motion notice in Lok Sabha over cases of mob lynching. 

# 09:40 AM: Rahul Gandhi taunts PM Modi ahead of Monsoon Session

"Pop Quiz I bow to the most powerful in the line. A person's strength & power are all that are important to me. I use hatred & fear to maintain the hierarchy of power. I seek out the weakest & crush them. I rank all living beings based on their usefulness to me. Who am I?" tweeted Rahul Gandhi.

# 09:35 AM: Trinamool Congress gives Zero hour notice in Rajya Sabha over Mob Lynching issue. 

# 09:30 AM: More than eight opposition leaders have sent unusual rejoinder to Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan's request to cooperation during parliament's monsoon session. 

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Jul 2018, 08:53:49 AM