News Nation Logo


Parliament Monsoon Session: BJP moves privilege motion against Congress president Rahul Gandhi Live

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 23 Jul 2018, 11:39:13 PM
Parliament Monsoon Session: (Photo Source: PTI)

New Delhi:

Two days after the Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) government won the vote of confidence in the lower house of Parliament, the proceedings in both Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha began on Monday.

Meanwhile, the Upper House proceedings came to a stand still minutes after the Day 4 proceedings of the Parliament's Monsoon Session was kick-started on Monday. The proceedings in Rajya Sabha have been adjourned following the TDP's protest over special category status for Andhra Pradesh. However, the session was then resumed post 2 pm and is currently going on.

After several failed attempts to trouble the NDA government through Friday's no-confidence motion, the opposition parties are looking forward to corner the government over several mob-lynching incidents, including the recent one in Rajasthan's Alwar. Read Full Story Here:

Highlights of Parliament Monsoon Session, day 4:

# 02:59 pm: Ravi Shankar Prasad introduces Specific Relief (Amendment) Bill, 2018 in Rajya Sabha.

# 02:24 pm: Demonetisation was a bad idea implemented badly, and GST was a good idea implemented badly: Congress MP Shashi Tharoor.

# 02:23 pm: PM and Defence Minister have misled the Parliament.The statement sent by French Govt talks of classified information on security,defence and operational capability;nowhere it refers to price.The price is not covered under the confidential agreement, says Anand Sharma.

# 02:15 pm: Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment) Bill has been taken up in Rajya Sabha.

# 02:12 pm: Rajya Sabha sesion resumes.

# 02:05 pm: BJP members have moved notice for privilege motion against Congress President Rahul Gandhi. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan will examine the notice.

# 01:48 pm: Rajya Sabha MPs can now submit notices online.

# 01:32 pm: Congress to move privilege motion against Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman in Lok Sabha on Rafael issue.

# 01:08 pm: Madhepura (Bihar) MP Pappu Yadav raises Muzaffarpur Shelter Home rape issue in Lok Sabha, demands CBI inquiry.

# 01:02 pm: Proceedings in the Rajya Sabha have been adjourned till 2 PM. 

# 12:59 pm: The Criminal Law Amendment Bill introduced in Lok Sabha replaces ordinance in force.

# 12:52 pm: Rajya Sabha proceedings resume.

# 12:43 pm: When Modi government took over in 2014, banking sector was in bad shape, says interim Finance Minister Piyush Goyal

# 12:34 pm: Parliamentary Affairs minister Ananth Kumar asks Kerala MP to not politicise the issue of human suffering.

# 12:31 pm: Amendment to Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Development Act, 2006 to be reintroduced in Lok Sabha.

# 12:07 pm: People are receiving the pension on time: Labour minister Snatosh Kumar Gangwar.

# 12:05 pm: YSR Congress leader questions status about seven schools in Andhra Pradesh.

# 11:55 am: MPs from Tamil Nadu and Karnataka raise issue over the lack of schools in tribal areas.

# 11:39 am: PM Narendra Modi did not bother to answer any of our question: TDP MP Jayadev Galla.

# 11:32 am: We had been moving the no confidence motion for entire second half of budget session, finally the discussion took place but PM didn't bother to answer any of our question,we heard same statements,so nothing has changed for us, no option rather than to protest:TDP MP Jayadev Galla.

# 11:27 am: Delhi: TDP MP Naramalli Sivaprasad dresses up a Annamayya, a devotee of Lord Balaji to protest over demand of special status for Andhra Pradesh.

# 11:23 am: Rajya Sabha adjourned till 12:00 noon after uproar in the house on Anand Sharma's comment on Central Investigation agencies.

# 11:21 am: The central investigation  agencies  have a role to perform under the constitution they are not instrument to use for the  govt of the day for political vendetta or persecute senior government officials ,there cannot be any discrimination: Anand Sharma.

# 10:56 am: Delhi: Congress MPs from Punjab protest over unemployment in front of Parliament.

# 10:47 am: Delhi: TDP MPs protest in front of Mahatma Gandhi statue in Parliament over special category status to Andhra Pradesh and implementation of AP re-organizing Act.

# 10:36 am: The government is encouraging such incidents in the country. This government does not want the situation in the country to improve. We will raise the issue in the Parliament today: Congress's Mallikarjun Kharge on cow vigilantism.

# 10:23 am: Our defence minster has clearly said about the Rafale agreement b/w India&France in the Parliament,now Rahul Gandhi wants to rake up a non issue with baseless charges, let them come with there allegations, govt had made this deal in best interest of the country: Union Min Ananth Kumar.

# 10:19 am: TDP MP YS Chowdary has given notice in Rajya Sabha under rule 267 to discuss AP Re-organisation Act.

The no confidence motion against the Narendra Modi government was on jULY 20 decisively defeated after an acrimonious debate in the Lok Sabha that witnessed political gamesmanship with Rahul Gandhi hugging the prime minister who hit back saying he was in a hurry to unseat him and grab his chair.

A total of 325 MPs opposed while 126 MPs supported the no trust motion moved by the TDP, a former BJP ally, during the division after a marathon 12-hour debate. A total of 451 MPs were present and voted in the House and the majority mark required in a House with an effective strength of 534 MPs came down to 226.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Jul 2018, 12:46:37 PM