News Nation Logo

Rahul Gandhi forms key Congress committees in poll-bound Telangana

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Guihiamliu Riamei | Updated on: 19 Sep 2018, 09:44:04 PM
Rahul Gandhi forms key Congress committees in poll-bound Telangana (Photo: Twitter)

New Delhi:

Congress president Rahul Gandhi on Wednesday appointed A Revanth Reddy and Ponnam Prabhakar as working presidents of the Telangana unit of the party.

According to a press release issued by the All India Congress Committee (AICC), the Congress president also set up a 15-member core committee with AICC in-charge of Telangana chairman R C Khuntia as chairman of the coordination committee for the Telangana unit and PCC president N Uttam Kumar Reddy as its convener. The panel will take all key decisions ahead of the assembly election slated for later this year.

Also Read | Mohan Bhagwat says inter-caste marriages most common among RSS volunteers 

The assembly election in Telangana was necessitated after Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao dissolved the assembly ahead of its tenure which was till May 2019.

The party’s 17-member campaign committee will have Mallu Bhatti Vkramarka Mallu, MLA, as its chairman, D K Aruna as its co-chairman and Sravan Dasoju as convener, while the 35-member manifesto committee for Telangana Congress will have Damodar C Rajanarasimha as chairman, K Venkat Reddy as co-chairperson and Bomma Mahesh Kumar Goud as its convener, a statement from AICC general secretary Ashok Gehlot said.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 19 Sep 2018, 09:43:17 PM