News Nation Logo


Rajasthan: Vasundhara Raje launches free-electricity scheme to woo farmers

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 07 Oct 2018, 12:11:38 AM
Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje and PM Narendra Modi (File)

New Delhi:

Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje launched a scheme to provide free electricity to farmers in the state, having general category connections.

Addressing a public rally on the culmination of her Rajasthan Gaurav Yatra, Raje said the scheme launched on Friday would help increase the income of farmers. The rally was also attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi. 

"I want to announce that the government yesterday had started a scheme of free electricity for all farmers in rural areas having electricity connection in general category for specific limit," she said.Raje also claimed that at present, domestic power was available for 20-22 hours a day, whereas the electricity infrastructure in the state was in bad condition when she had come to power.

Also Read | After Mayawati, Akhilesh Yadav's Samajwadi Party hints at dumping Congress in Madhya Pradesh

According to her, the government turned the situation around by infusing nearly Rs 40,000 crore.The chief minister also announced that the state government was working on the Rs 37,000 crore "Eastern Rajasthan Canal Project" (ERCP) which will provide water for drinking and irrigation purposes to 13 districts in eastern RajasthanModi also praised the developmental work carried out by Raje, saying the BJP government in the state had worked hard to electrify 13 lakh villages.

The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday announced the dates for the Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly elections.

Also Read | Hansal Mehta, Apurva Asrani call out 'Queen' director Vikas Bahl over harassment allegations

While Chhattisgarh will go to the polls in two phases on November 12 and 20, the Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram Assembly elections will be held on November 28.

Polling in Rajasthan and Telangana will be held on December 7, announced Chief Election Commissioner (CEO) OP Rawat. Counting of votes will be held across all the five states on December 11, he said.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 06 Oct 2018, 09:24:42 PM