News Nation Logo

Rajya Sabha Vote: Harivansh Narayan Singh is new RS Deputy Chairman Live

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 09 Aug 2018, 04:32:09 PM
Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Election: Polls to start soon

New Delhi:

The Rajya Sabha on Thursday elected National Democratic Alliance (NDA) nominee Harivansh Narayan Singh as its new Deputy Chairman. Singh emerged victorious with a total of 125 votes in the Upper House, while his opponent BK Hariprasad got 105 votes.

Parties like the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), YSRCP, and People's Democratic Party (PDP) abstained from the voting in the House. 

ALSO READ: Meet Harivansh Narayan Singh, the new Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

Here are the Live Updates from Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Elections:

# Harivansh Narayan Singh hopes for a smooth commencement of the upper house as he vow to work together with all the members.

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar congratulates Harivansh Narayan Singh 

Arun Jaitley congratulates NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh who was elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman.

# I congratulate Harivansh ji on behalf of the whole house. He has been blessed with the talent of writing. He was also a favourite of former PM Chandra Shekhar ji, says PM Modi

PM Narendra Modi congratulates NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh who was elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman

# OFFICIAL | NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh elected as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman with 125 votes, UPA's BK Hariprasad got 105 votes.

# The voting on the motion to elect NDA's Harivansh Narayan Singh gets over. A total of 122 members have voted in favour of electing him whereas 98 have voted against, while 2 have abstained. A total of 222 members voted. These aren't the final numbers and is being verified in the House.

# Looking at Congress's attitude we have decided to abstain from voting for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman, Congress is the biggest obstacle in Opposition's unity, says AAP MP Sanjay Singh.

# The voice vote has been done with and now division of votes is now taking place.

TRS confirms that it will vote for NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan.

The Rajya Sabha has started has proceedings for the day

Arun Jaitley is back in the Parliament after a kidney-related surgery. 

BJD Statement on RS Deputy Chairman polls

# Rajya Sabha MP Amar Singh has said that he will vote in favour of the NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh

We are confident of our win and election result is a foregone conclusion, says Harivansh Narayan Singh, NDA's candidate for the post of Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman.

The YSR Congress of Jaganmohan Reddy has decided to abstain from the Rajya Sabha at the time of voting.

# We have decided to abstain from voting for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman elections. Both Congress and BJP have not fulfilled the promises made to Andhra Pradesh, says V Vijayasai Reddy, YSR Congress MP

The BJP has issued a three-line whip directing all its members to be present in the Rajya Sabha.

We are very confident that we have the required numbers, opposition is united, says BK Hariprasad, Congress Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman candidate

Arun Jaitley is likely to participate in the elections for the Deputy Chairman's post. This will be his first appearance in the Parliament monsoon session.

# A meeting of senior NDA leaders is likely to take place ahead of the elections.

# Naveen Patnaik led BJD will support the NDA candidate

Nitish Kumar has sought support from Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)

# “We will back the NDA candidate,” Shiv Sena MP Anil Desai, said.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Aug 2018, 09:49:40 AM