News Nation Logo

Rebel JD(U) MPs Sharad Yadav, Ali Anwar disqualified as Rajya Sabha members

The Rajya Sabha Chairman Agreed To The JDU’s Contention That The Two Senior Leaders Had “voluntarily Given Up' Their Membership By Defying Their Party’s Directives And Attending Events Of Opposition Parties.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vikas Mehta | Updated on: 05 Dec 2017, 09:35:23 AM
Rebel JD(U) MPs Sharad Yadav, Ali Anwar disqualified as Rajya Sabha members (File-Photo)

New Delhi:

After losing party symbol case to Nitish Kumar, Rebel JD (U) MP Sharad Yadav received another jolt on Monday night when he was disqualified from the Rajya Sabha.

According to a communication from the chairman of the House M Venkaiah Naidu, Sharad Yadav and another Rajya Sabha MP Ali Anwar were disqualified from the Upper house of the Parliament.

The Rajya Sabha chairman in his communication said they cease to be Upper House members with immediate effect.

The Rajya Sabha chairman agreed to the JDU’s contention that the two senior leaders had “voluntarily given up” their membership by defying their party’s directives and attending events of opposition parties.

The JDU had sought their disqualification on the grounds that they had attended a rally of opposition parties in Patna in violation of its direction.

Yadav had joined hands with the opposition after JDU president and Bihar chief minister Nitish Kuamar dumped the Grand Alliance in Bihar and tied up with the BJP.

Yadav was elected to the House last year and his term was scheduled to end in 2022. Anwar’s term was to expire early next year.

The former JDU president, who is at present in Gujarat to campaign against the BJP, is expected to respond to his disqualification tomorrow. (With PTI Inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Dec 2017, 09:17:46 AM

Related Tags:

JD(U) Sharad Yadav