News Nation Logo


Revisit Northern Railways - 15 fascinating facts about the largest railway zone in India

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Subhayan Chakraborty | Updated on: 03 Oct 2018, 02:47:40 PM
Revisit Northern Railways - 15 fascinating facts about the largest railway zone in India (Photo:

New Delhi:

The Northern Railways, the largest railway zone in India, is replete with history. Its creation that began long ago in 1859, in the lap of nature, with great minds working ceaselessly to provide the best of travel experience to both regular passengers and tourists from all over the world, has beautiful stories behind to be told to the whole world. Here are 15 fascinating facts that can help you revisit history, creation and achievements of Northern Railways.

ALSO READ: Ranjan Gogoi sworn-in as 46th CJI; 7 important cases awaiting judgment

1. The Northern Railway, known as the jewel in the crown of Indian Railways was created on March 3, 1859.

2. It was officially notified as a new railway zone on 14 April 1952.
3. Merging Jodhpur Railway, Bikaner Railway, Eastern Punjab Railway and three divisions of the East Indian Railway north-west of Mughalsarai (Uttar Pradesh), the Northern Railway was created.

4. Allahabad-Kanpur, the first passenger railway line in North India, which falls under Northern Railway, opened on 3 March 1859.

5. In 1864, a broad gauge track was laid between Calcutta and Delhi, allowing a more comfortable journey for its passengers.

6. The railway line between Old Delhi and Meerut City railway station was constructed in 1864.

7. The Meerut Cantt railway station was established by British India government around 1865 after the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857

8. The Sind, Punjab and Delhi railway completed the 483 km (300 mi) long Amritsar - Ambala - Jagadhri- Saharanpur - Ghaziabad line connecting Multan (now in Pakistan) with Delhi in 1870.

9. In 1872, Sarai Rohilla railway station was set up as the metre gauge railway line from Delhi to Jaipur and Ajmer was being laid.

10. The present building of the Delhi Junction railway station was built in 1900 with two platforms and was opened for public in 1903.

11. In 1926, the New Delhi railway station opened ahead of the inauguration of the New Delhi as India's capital city in 1931

12. In 1976-77, the Ghaziabad-Nizamuddin-New Delhi-Delhi track was electrified.

13. The Northern Railway Headquarter is in New Delhi, Baroda House, Near India Gate.

14. The Northern Railways is the largest of the 17 railway zones in India.

15. The NR connects five divisions - Ambala, Delhi, Ferozpur, Lucknow and Moradabad.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 03 Oct 2018, 02:47:00 PM