News Nation Logo

RJD-JDU rift timeline: Nitish resignation marks the beginning of the end of ‘mahagathbandhan’

Ending Months Long Drama, The JDU-RJD “Mahagathbandhan' In Bihar Has Finally Come To An End After Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar Resigned From His Post On Wednesday Evening. Here Is The Timeline Of JDU-RJD-Congress Mahagathbandhan.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 26 Jul 2017, 07:35:58 PM
RJD-JDU rift timeline: Nitish resignation marks the beginning of the end of ‘mahagathbandhan’

New Delhi:

Ending months long drama, the JDU-RJD “Mahagathbandhan” in Bihar has finally come to an end after Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar resigned from his post on Wednesday evening. Nitish after giving his resignation said it was not possible to work in this environment.

Nitish Kumar’s resignation came hours after RJD Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav ruled out the resignation of his son and deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav over a corruption scam.

Live updates | Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar CM: PM Modi congratulates, indicates alliance with old partner

Here is the timeline of anti-BJP “Mahagathbandhan” (Grand alliance) of RJD-JDU:

26 July 2017: Nitish Kumar resigned as Chief Minister. Announced JDU’s pull out of grand alliance.

26 July 2017: RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav ruled out the resignation of his son and deputy CM Tejashwi Yadav over a corruption scam saying that Chief Minister Nitish Kumar "has not asked him to resign" either.

18 July 2017: Nitish holds private meeting with Tejashwi Yadav after Cabinet meeting.

15 July 2017: Tejashwi Yadav skips an official World Youth Skills Day function of the government chaired by Nitish. RJD says Tejashwi was unwell. Earlier, his nameplate on the dias was covered with a cloth, but was later removed.

14 July 2017: Reports emerge suggesting that Congress president Sonia Gandhi called both Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad to help them solve differences. Lalu Prasad says he is “not aware of such calls being made”. He added that he will not let anyone break the Mahagatbandhan.

10 July 2017: RJD holds meeting, rules out Tejashwi Yadav’s resignation.

Suggested Read: Bihar Mahagathbandhan ends, 10 reasons behind Nitish Kumar's resignation as Bihar CM

8 July 2017: Lalu’s daughter Misa Bharti’s residence and properties in New Delhi raided. The case was registered on the allegations of awarding the tender for development, maintenance and operation of hotels at Ranchi and Puri to a private company dealing with hotels in the year 2006.

7 July 2017: Lalu raided by the CBI in 12 locations, across 5 cities, related to the alleged land for hotel scam. His son and Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav named as an accused by the CBI. Wife Rabri Devi and business associates also named in the FIR.

21 June 2017: Nitish pledges support to Ram Nath Kovind, NDA's candidate for Presidency.

27 May 2017: Nitish attends lunch hosted by PM Modi, in honour of visiting Mauritius Prime Minister Pravind Jugnauth. Nitish also holds a private meeting with Modi.

26 May 2017: A day earlier, Nitish skips lunch hosted by Congress President Sonia Gandhi to discuss joint Opposition candidate for presidency. Sends representative from JDU.

5 January 2017: PM Narendra Modi shares stage with Nitish Kumar. Modi praised Nitish for ‘nasha-mukti abhiyan’ and said it would inspire others.

9 November 2016: Contrary to Opposition views, Nitish calls demonetisation a “direct” move to wipe out black money. His alliance partner Lalu called the Centre’s move a “fraud”.

29 September 2016: Nitish one of the first to come out in praise of Centre’s surgical strike move.

11 September 2016: Nitish hits back at Shahabuddin’s statement saying that people of Bihar know whom they have pledged their support to.

10 September 2016: Mafia don and politician Shahabuddin, within minutes of being released from jail, praised his party boss Lalu Prasad and termed Nitish as a “chief minister of circumstances”.

21 January 2016: RJD national vice president Raghuvansh Prasad Singh blamed Nitish Kumar for law and order lapses in the state by saying that Home portfolio is with CM.

8 November 2015: Mahagatbandhan wins massive mandate, forms the government. They win a massive 178 out of 243 Assembly seats.

5 June 2015: Nitish Kumar announced as the CM candidate of Mahagatbandhan.

27 July 2014: Mahagatbandhan announced by Nitish & Lalu along with the Congress.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jul 2017, 07:32:14 PM