News Nation Logo


S-400 Triumf Missile can engage 36 targets at a time: 10 things to know

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Aniruddha Dhar | Updated on: 05 Oct 2018, 11:43:55 PM
The S-400 Triumf air defence system (File Photo)

New Delhi:

India will finally acquire the S-400 Triumf air defence system from Russia despite pressure of sanctions from the US. The Triumf missile can engage up to 36 targets at a time and simultaneously launch 72 missiles.

Here is all you need to know about lethal surface-to-air Triumf missile system

 #The delivery of the missile systems, tipped to be over USD 5 billion, will start 24 months from the signing of the contract.

#The missile system would help repulse the air attacks by India's adversaries, especially Pakistan and China.

#The missile system has been in service since April 2007.

#The S-400 is based on the S-300PMU2 air defence missile complex.

#The S-400 system can also additionally include an all-altitude radar (detector) and movable towers for an antenna post.

#The target detection range of this system is up to 600 kilometres and its tactical ballistic missile destruction range varies from five kilometres to 60 kilometres.

#Air Force Chief B S Dhanoa said the system will provide a much needed "booster" to the Air Force, is designed to destroy air attacks, including stealth aircraft and any other aerial targets.

#The S-400 Triumf air defence system integrates a multifunction radar, autonomous detection and targeting systems, anti-aircraft missile systems, launchers, and command and control centre. It is capable of firing three types of missiles to create a layered defence.

#The system can engage all types of aerial targets including aircraft, unmanned aerial vehicles (UAV), and ballistic and cruise missiles within the range of 400km, at an altitude of up to 30km. The system can simultaneously engage 36 targets.

#The S-400 is two-times more effective than previous Russian air defence systems and can be deployed within five minutes. It can also be integrated into the existing and future air defence units of the Air Force, Army, and the Navy.

(With PTI inputs)

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 05 Oct 2018, 08:40:29 PM