News Nation Logo


Samajwadi Party leader Ashok Bajpai resigns as MLC

While Talking To Reporters, Bajpai Showed The Letter Of His Resignation And Said He Does Not Think That There Was Any Role For Him To Play Within Party As The Party Mentor Mulayam Singh Yadav And His Brother Shivpal Singh Yadav Have Been Sidelined In The Party.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Vikas Mehta | Updated on: 09 Aug 2017, 02:39:08 PM
Samajwadi Party leader Ashok Bajpai resigns as MLC

New Delhi:

Samajwadi Party leader Ashok Bajpai on Wednesday resigned from the post of MLC. He is the fourth leader who broke the party rank.

While talking to reporters, Bajpai showed the letter of his resignation and said he does not think that there was any role for him to play within party as the party mentor Mulayam Singh Yadav and his brother Shivpal Singh Yadav have been sidelined in the party.

Bajpai said he is one of founder members of the party and contributed to raising the party which ruled the state four times.

He said, “How long we stay in Samajwadi Party with the insult?” Sources say that Bajpai has quit his seat for deputy chief minister Dinesh Sharma.

In the backdrop of three MLCs recently quitting the party and joining the BJP, Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Akhilesh Yadav on Monday had said those who wanted to go, should go without offering any excuse, so that he could ascertain who were with him in “bad times”.

Also Read: Akhilesh takes jibe at BJP, says 'pelt stone and poach MLC'

Referring to the “excuses” put forward by the three MLCs Bukkal Nawab, Sarojini Agarwal and Yashwant Singh—while leaving the party, Yadav said, “Some people are saying they were feeling suffocated as the atmosphere of the party had gone bad. This should not be an excuse for leaving the party, they should find a better excuse.”

Also Read: After 3 SP MLCs joined BJP, Akhilesh Yadav offers no-excuse exit to those who want to quit party

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 09 Aug 2017, 01:44:22 PM