News Nation Logo

Live updates | Maha civic poll results: Overall tally till 4 PM - BJP 470, SS 215, Cong 99, NCP 108, MNS 16, Others 61 Live

The Congress And The NCP Are Far Behind The Sena And The BJP, Leading On 14 And 4 Seats, Respectively, In The 227-member BMC.

PTI | Updated on: 23 Feb 2017, 05:31:14 PM


The final figure of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) polls has been announced. The Shiv Sena maintained its hold on Mumbai, wins 84 seats followed by BJP with 80 seats.

The Congress and the NCP are far behind the Sena and the BJP.

BJP has gained much in the BMC polls of 2017 with 81 seats. In 2012, BJP had got 31 seats. The figures of Shiv Sena has also increased. In present 2017 BMC polls, Shiv Sena has won 84 seats whereas it got 75 seats in 2012 polls.

MNS has lost many seats in this election. In 2012, MNS won 27 seats which has been trimmed down to 7 seats in 2017. INC has also been on the losing side. INC got 52 seats in 2012 whereas it got 31 in present 2017 polls.

The poll results show huge loss for INC and MNS. BJP has achieved significant gain in Shiv Sena dominated areas. As per reports, Gujaratis, South Indians and North Indians have voted heavily for BJP.

In the adjoining Thane civic body also, the Sena is maintaining its supremacy.

The Sena has been controlling the BMC for the last two decades with the backing of the BJP, but this time the two parties parted ways and decided to go it alone, leading to a high-voltage campaign for the civic election.

Meanwhile, in Pune, Nashik and Nagpur civic bodies, the BJP is ahead of its rivals.

In Pune, the BJP is set to make decisive gains at the cost of Sharad Pawar-led NCP. In Nagpur, the hometown of Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, it is ahead of its rivals.

As per trends coming in from the other city corporations, zilla parishads and panchayat samitis, the BJP has won 15 seats and Shiv Sena 9 in the 122-member Nashik Municipal Corporation. Besides, the Shiv Sena was leading in 18 seats, BJP in 14, and MNS, NCP and Congress in 2 seats each in the Nashik civic body.

The ruling MNS appeared to be in for a severe drubbing in Nashik.

Apart from Mumbai, the municipal corporations which went to the polls were Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pune, Pimpri-Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur.

Here are the live updates:

# I take responsibility for my defeat in local body polls in Beed, have sent my resignation: Maharashtra Women & Child Welfare Minister Pankaja Munde

# Maharashtra Civic polls: State overall tally for all municipal corporations till 4 PM: BJP 470, SS 215, Cong 99, NCP 108, MNS 16, Others-61

# Final figures of BMC poll results on 227 seats: Shiv Sena-84, BJP-81, INC-31, NCP-09, MNS-07, AIMIM-03, Others-11

# Pankaja Munde takes responsibility after BJP lost 8 out of 10 seats in Parli; Offers resignation

# I accept the decision of people of Mumbai. I will keep working for the party: Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam on his resignation

# Results of 225/227 wards: SS wins 84, BJP wins 80, Congress wins 31, MNS wins 7, NCP wins 9, MIM wins 1, others win 5, ABS wins 1

Results of 199/227 wards-Shiv Sena wins 77, BJP wins 69, INC wins 27, NCP wins 8, MNS wins 4, SP wins 6, AIMIM wins 3, ABS wins 1,Others win4

Shiv Sena leading on 92 wards, BJP on 77 wards, Congress on 29 wards, NCP on 7 wards, MNS on 6 wards & others on 14.

Shiv Sena's Haji Mohammed Halim Khan wins from ward number 96.

# Sanjay Nirupam offers resignation from the post of Mumbai Regional Congress Committee chairman post.

# INC candidate Rajendra Narwankar, retired BMC assistant Engineer, wins from ward no 216.

# Vinod Shelar brother of BJP's Mumbai unit chief Ashish Shelar lost from ward number 51.

#  Asaduddin Owaisi's AIMIM wins 5 seats in Solapur Municipal Corporation.

# BJP MP Kirit Somaiya's son Neil wins from ward number 108

Ex-Shiv Sena Mayor Shraddha Jadhav wins consecutively for the 6th time from ward no. 202

In Pune: BJP leading on 15 wards, BSP on 2, NCP on 9,MNS on 2, Congress on 3 and Shiv Sena on 2.

# Shiv Sena leading on 75 wards, BJP on 40 wards, Congress on 11 wards, MNS on 6 wards, NCP on 4 wards and others on 2

# Shiv Sena party workers celebrate outside party office as initial trends indicate their lead

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Feb 2017, 01:37:00 PM

Related Tags:

BMC Polls BMC Shiv Sena