News Nation Logo

Shiv Sena, Congress, NCP Meeting Ends, No Consensus On Portfolio Sharing

After The Meeting, Which Was Attended By Top Leaders Of The Three Parties, No Announcement Was Made Regarding The Distribution Of Portfolios.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 27 Nov 2019, 09:39:55 PM
Shiv Sena, Congress, NCP Meeting Ends, No Consensus On Cabinet Births: Sources

New Delhi:

The Congress, NCP and Shiv Sena-led ‘Maha Vikas Aghadi’ coalition on Wednesday held a meeting in Mumbai to discuss the distribution of cabinet births but failed to reach consensus on the issue. After the meeting, which was attended by top leaders of the three parties, no announcement was made regarding the distribution of portfolios among them.

When News Nation tried to ask Congress leader Prithviraj Chavan about it, he dodged all the questions regarding the distribution of Cabinet portfolios and left without answering them. However, another Congress leaderAhmed Patel claimed that all the issues have been sorted out but he too refrained from divulging details. "We have sorted out all the issues, you will get to know tomorrow," Ahmed Patel told news agency ANI.

Addressing a press conference after the meeting, NCP leaer Praful Patel said that although it was not decided how many ministers will take oath, one or two leaders from each parties will be sworn-in. He also confirmed that deputy chief minister will be from NCP while Speaker's post will go to the Congress party. However, he didn't reveal whether Ajit Pawar will be the deputy chief minsiter from NCP's side.

Also Read | Maharashtra Cabinet: Shiv Sena To Get 15 Ministers Apart From CM Berth, NCP-Congress 13 Each

"How many ministers will take oath will be decided tonight. But it is expected 1 or 2 MLAs from each party will take oath as ministers. Speaker has been decided by all three parties, Speaker will be from Congress and Deputy Speaker from NCP.... There will be only one deputy chief minister and that will be from NCP," Patel said.

The 'Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi', comprising the Shiv Sena, NCP and Congress along with some small parties and Independents, had staked claim for government formation in the state after the BJP-led government collapsed on Tuesday. The coalition of the three parties chose Uddhav Thackeray as the leader of the alliance and nominated him for the chief minister's post.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Nov 2019, 08:59:15 PM