News Nation Logo


Shripad Naik says BJP will form next govt in Goa

BJP's Campaign Was Studded With Several National Leaders Including Prime Minister Narendra Modi And Party President Amit Shah Addressing The Public Meeting To Rally Support For The Candidates.

PTI | Updated on: 04 Feb 2017, 11:11:12 AM
Shripad Naik says BJP will form next govt in Goa


Union AYUSH minister Shripad Naik on Saturday expressed confidence that BJP would be forming the next government in Goa with a comfortable majority, bagging 21-26 seats in the 40-member State Legislative Assembly.

We are going to get the majority votes. My prediction is that we will get between 21 to 26 seats, Naik told reporters here after casting his vote this morning. Considering the response received by BJP, we feel the party will get two-three more seats than the last time.

Live Updates | Goa Elections 2017: North Goa records voting percentage of 16%, while South Goa records 14% with an overall turnout of 15%, till 9 am

The voters have shown tremendous enthusiasm in favour of BJP which was witnessed during the election campaign, the minister said. Talking about the party's announcement that it might to send a leader from the Centre to be the next chief minister, if BJP is voted to power, Naik said the elected representatives should decide who would be their leader and the final decision should be taken after taking central leadership into confidence.

It would not be right to make any predictions now as the elected representatives will take a call on that, he added. The election is being closely fought by major political forces BJP, Congress, AAP and MGP-led alliance, who have been campaigning in the coastal state for last two months, where polling is currently underway.

BJP's campaign was studded with several national leaders including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah addressing the public meeting to rally support for the candidates. The Arvind Kejriwal-led party, which has for the first time forayed into Goa, is contesting on 39 seats. Counting of votes will be undertaken on March 11.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 04 Feb 2017, 11:04:00 AM

Related Tags:

Goa Assembly Elections