News Nation Logo

Take nation into confidence on all measures to protect India's sovereignty: Rahul Gandhi to PM

The Joint Statement Released By The Opposition Parties Also Expressed Anguish Over Blatant Politicisation Of Sacrifices Of The Armed Forces By The Ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Nabanita Chakorborty | Updated on: 27 Feb 2019, 08:39:04 PM

New Delhi:

The crucial meeting of leaders of the 21 Opposition parties on Wednesday condemned the dastardly Pulwama terror attack by "Pakistan-sponsored" terrorists of Jaish-e-Mohammed (JeM) on February 14, 2019, adding that the Narendra Modi government should take the nation into confidence on all measures to protect India's sovereignty, unity and integrity.

The joint statement released by the Opposition parties also expressed anguish over blatant politicisation of sacrifices of the Armed Forces by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). "National security must transcend narrow political consideration," Congress president Rahul Gandhi said while briefing the media on the Opposition meet.

"The meeting lauded the action taken by the Indian Air Force (IAF) against the terrorist camp on February 26, 2019 and praised the Indian Armed Forces for their valour and bravery. The opposition leaders also observed that the prime minister has, regrettably, not convened an all-party meeting as per the established practice in the Indian democracy," the statement added.

"The leaders expressed concern on the emerging security situation. Post the statement from the MEA regarding targeting of our military installations and loss of one fighter aircraft, the leaders condemned the Pakistani misadventure and expressed their deep concern for the safety of our missing pilot," it read.

The meeting which took place in Parliament Library Building this morning was attended by former prime minister Manmohan Singh, Congress president Rahul Gandhi, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi, West Bengal Chief Minister and TMC president Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu, Loktantrik Janta Dal leader Sharad Yadav, NCP chief Sharad Pawar and party colleague Praful Patel.

CPI(M) General Secretary Sitaram Yechury, BSP's Satish Chandra Mishra, JDU's Upendra Kushwaha, former Bihar CM Jitan Ram Manjhi, Congress' Ahmed Patel, Ghulam Nabi Azad, CPI's Sudhakar Reddy, JDS' Danish Ali, DMK's Tiruchi Siva, AAP's Sanjay Singh and others were also in attendance. The Samajwadi Party (SP) was absent from the meeting.

Earlier on Tuesday, the Opposition had decided to drop the formulation of the Common Minimum Programme (CMP) as the agenda for their meeting in view of the prevailing security situation in the country.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 27 Feb 2019, 05:35:27 PM