News Nation Logo

Tamil Nadu CM Palaniswami wins crucial trust vote, gets support from 122 MLAs

The Palanisamy Government Won The Confidence Vote In The Tamil Nadu Assembly On Saturday By A Comfortable 122-11 Margin After High Drama And Bedlam In The House.

PTI | Updated on: 18 Feb 2017, 05:42:03 PM
A file photo of Tamil Nadu chief minister EK Palanisamy.


The Palanisamy government won the confidence vote in the Tamil Nadu assembly on Saturday by a comfortable 122-11 margin after high drama and bedlam in the house. 

The vote was preceded by eviction of principal opposition DMK and walkout by its allies, which have 98 legislators in the 234-member house, in protest. 

Former chief minister Panneerselvam could muster only 11 votes, ending the prolonged stalemate triggered by his rebellion and by conviction of AIADMK chief VK Sasikala after being elected the legislature party leader. 

Governor Ch Vidyasagar Rao, while appointing Edappadi K Palanisamy as the chief minister after he was propped by Sasikala, had given him 15 days time to prove his majority. 

The vote was taken after two adjournments due to pandemonium and charges of attacks by DMK members. Speaker P Dhanapal and leader of opposition MK Stalin said their shirts were torn in the fracas in the house.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 18 Feb 2017, 05:33:00 PM

Related Tags:

Tamil Nadu AIADMK