News Nation Logo


Telangana Assembly polls: AIMIM releases first list of candidates

PTI | Updated on: 09 Oct 2018, 02:36:13 PM
Telangana Assembly polls: AIMIM releases first list of candidates (File Photo)


The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehad-ul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday announced its first list of seven candidates for the coming legislative assembly elections in Telangana.

Owaisi’s younger brother Akbaruddin Owaisi would contest from Chandrayangutta assembly segment in Hyderabad, according to a AIMIM release.

Also Read | AAI shelves water aerodrome project in Chilika Lake 

The other candidates announced are: Syed Ahmed Pasha Quadri (Yakutpura), Mumtaz Ahmed Khan (Charminar), Mohd Moazam Khan (Bahadurpura), Ahmed Bin Abdullah Balala (Malakpet), Jaffer Hussain Meraj (Nampally) and Kausar Moinuddin (Karwan).

The AIMIM had seven MLAs in the state legislative assembly dissolved last week.

Read More | SC Collegium recommends transfer of three High Court judges; Manipur, Gauhati, Telangana and Andhra Pradesh 

Legislative assembly polls were originally scheduled to be held simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections next year.

However, the assembly was dissolved as per the recommendation made by the TRS government, necessitating elections ahead of schedule.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Sep 2018, 11:27:59 AM