News Nation Logo


Telangana Statehood Day: PM Modi greets people on their state's formation day

Telangana Statehood Day: On 2 June 2014, Telangana Was Separated From The Northwestern Part Of Andhra Pradesh As The 29th State With Hyderabad As Its Permanent Capital.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Shashikant Sharma | Updated on: 02 Jun 2019, 11:25:55 AM
Telangana Statehood Day: Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh on June 2, 2014. (PTI Photo)

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi Sunday greeted the people of Telangana on Statehood Day. The prime minister also extended his wishes to the people of Andhra Pradesh. Telangana was carved out of Andhra Pradesh on June 2, 2014.

"On Telangana’s Statehood Day, my best wishes to the people of this wonderful state. Telangana is known for its hardworking citizens who are making great contributions to our nation’s development. I pray for the progress of Telangana,” he tweeted.

The prime minister also greeted the people Andhra Pradesh, hailing the state for its "immense contribution" in the fields of science, sports and education. "Greeting the people of Andhra Pradesh, Modi said, from science to sports, education to enterprise, AP’s contribution is immense. May the state prosper in the coming years”, the prime minister said.

On 2 June 2014, Telangana was separated from the northwestern part of Andhra Pradesh as the 29th state with Hyderabad as its permanent capital. However, the formation of Telangana was marred by violent protests, killing hundreds of people.

On December 9, 2009, the Congress-led UPA government had announced the process of formation of the Telangana state. The announcement triggered violent protests led by people in the Coastal Andhra and Rayalseema regions, forcing the government to put the decision on hold.

After four years, on 30 July 2013, the Congress Working Committee again unanimously passed a resolution to recommend the formation of a separate Telangana state. In February 2014, the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014 was passed by the Parliament paving the way for the formation of Telangana.

After receiving President’s nod to the Bill, Telangana was officially formed on June 2, 2014. K Chandrashekar Rao was elected as the first chief minister of the state, following Assembly elections in which his party, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi won the majority.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 02 Jun 2019, 11:25:55 AM