News Nation Logo


Telegu Desam Party wins Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections

Making A Strong Comeback The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Comfortably Took Over The Kakinada Municipal Corporation (KMC) Election.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Deepak Mahato | Updated on: 01 Sep 2017, 06:43:12 PM
Telugu Desam Party wins Kakinada Municipal Corporation elections.

New Delhi:

Making a strong comeback the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) comfortably took over the Kakinada Municipal Corporation (KMC) election.

The TDP and BJP bagged 32 out of 48 civic divisions in the results announced on Friday for KMC elections held on August 29. YSR Congress had to be content with only 10 seats.

Deputy Chief Minister (Home) N China Rajappa, who spearheaded the party campaign for Kakinada Municipal Corporation said, “People have once again voted for development and welfare agenda.”

In the KMC elections, the TDP had contested in 39 of the 48 divisions, while BJP contested in nine seats.

It is after a gap of over two decades that the TDP captured power in Kakinada city. Kakinada, a port town, has been chosen as a Smart City under the Smart Cities Mission.

TDP supporters took the streets in the city to celebrate the win.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 01 Sep 2017, 06:43:12 PM