News Nation Logo


Know 10 interesting facts about the Indian Constitution

The Indian Constitution Came Into Effect On 26 January 1950 With A Democratic Government System, Completing The Country's Transition Towards Becoming An Independent Republic.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Gautam Lalotra | Updated on: 26 Jan 2017, 03:23:50 PM
Indian National Flag - File Photo

New Delhi:

India's military might and rich cultural diversity were in full display during the dazzling 68th Republic Day celebrations in the national capital on Thursday which had Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan as the Chief Guest.

Republic Day honours the date on which the Constitution of India came into effect on 26 January 1950 replacing the Government of India Act (1935) as the governing document of India.

The Constitution was adopted by the Indian Constituent Assembly on 26 November 1949, and came into effect on 26 January 1950 with a democratic government system, completing the country's transition towards becoming an independent republic. 

The Constitution of India lays down the framework defining fundamental political principles, establishes the structure, procedures, powers and duties of government institutions and sets out fundamental rights, directive principles and the duties of citizens. It declares India a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic republic, assuring its citizens of justice, equality, and liberty, and endeavours to promote fraternity among them

Here are some interesting facts about the Indian Constitution

1. B R Ambedkar is regarded as the chief architect of the Indian constitution

2. The first temporary 2-day president of the Constituent Assembly was Dr Sachchidananda Sinha. Later, Rajendra Prasad was elected president of the Constituent Assembly

3. The draft for the Indian constitution was submitted in November 1949. After the submission, it took three more years to complete it

4. All the 284 members of the Constituent Assembly signed the documents on January 24, 1950

5. The Constituent Assembly had 284 members, out of which 15 were women

6. The Constitution was adopted on November 26, 1949, while it came into force on January 26, 1950

7. On January 26, 1950, the Indian Government also adopted Sarnath, the Lion Capital of Ashoka with the wheel, bull, and horse as the national emblem of India.

8. The original copies of the Constitution of India are kept in special helium-filled cases in the Library of the Parliament of India

9. The concepts of Liberty, Equality and Fraternity were taken from the French constitution

10. The concept of five year plans was taken from the USSR. The Directive Principles were adopted from Irish Constitution

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 26 Jan 2017, 03:00:00 PM