News Nation Logo


Trinamool MPs Nusrat Jahan, Mimi Chakraborty take oath in Lok Sabha

Trinamool Congress' Winning Candidates Nusrat Jahan And Mimi Chakraborty On Tuesday Took Oath As Members Of Parliament

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Fayiq Wani | Updated on: 25 Jun 2019, 02:11:42 PM

New Delhi:

Trinamool Congress' winning candidates Nusrat Jahan and Mimi Chakraborty on Tuesday took oath as members of Parliament. Twenty-nine-year-old Nusrat won the Lok Sabha Elections from the Basirhat constituency in West Bengal. Mimi Chakraborty won from the prestigious Jadavpur seat. Jahan won by 3,50,369 votes from Basirhat, while Mimi Chakraborty’s margin of victory was 2,95,239 votes. Trinamool Congress won both seats by a margin of less than 1,30,000 in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

Speaker Om Birla asked the members haven't taken their oaths yet to come forward and do so now following which candidates took oath.

Earlier, Nusrat Jahan married city-based businessman Nikhil Jain in Turkey. She posted a picture of herself with her husband, Nikhil Jain, on Twitter Thursday, which she captioned thus: “Towards a happily ever after with Nikhil Jain."

The wedding took place in the Turkish town of Bodrum in the presence of family and close friends. The wedding took place at the Sixth Sense Kapalankaya Hotel, 84 kilometres away from Bodrum. Ace designer Sabyasachi Mukherjee designed the wedding outfits for both Nusrat and Nikhil. Nusrat flew to Bodrum on June 15 and was accompanied by Mimi Chakraborty.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 25 Jun 2019, 02:11:42 PM