News Nation Logo

Union government releases list of 20 smart cities

The State Governments Had Submitted Proposals For 97 Cities To The Urban Development Ministry. The Selected Cities Will Get Basic Infrastructure, Efficient Urban Mobility And Public Transport, IT Connectivity And E-governance Mechanisms.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Bindiya Bhatt | Updated on: 28 Jan 2016, 07:23:38 PM

News Delhi:

The Union government on Thursday released the first list of 20 urban areas that will be developed as smart cities.

"Implementation of smart cities plan will showcase integrated planning. The investment of Rs 50,802 crores has been proposed in selected smart cities and towns during the five-year period," said minister of urban development Venkaiah Naidu, while announcing the list.

"There are five capital cities among the 20 smart cities chosen," Naidu said. "A consortium of only Indian companies was chosen for plans of nine cities from the 20 cities chosen," he added.

The state governments had submitted proposals for 97 cities to the urban development ministry. The selected cities will get basic infrastructure, efficient urban mobility and public transport, IT connectivity and e-governance mechanisms.

The government has plans to announce the names of 40 smart cities in the future.

Here is the list of 20 smart cities announced on Thursday:

  1. Bhubaneswar
  2. Pune
  3. Jaipur
  4. Surat
  5. Kochi
  6. Ahmedabad
  7. Jabalpur
  8. Visakhapatnam
  9. Solapur
  10. Davangere
  11. Indore
  12. New Delhi area
  13. Coimbatore
  14. Kakinada
  15. Belgaum
  16. Udaipur
  17. Guwahati
  18. Chennai
  19. Ludhiana
  20. Bhopal

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 28 Jan 2016, 04:17:00 PM