News Nation Logo


UP election results | Modi wave outshines Ram Mandir fanfare: BJP set to cross its performance in 1991 elections

The BJP Has Stolen An Early March Over Its Rivals Forging Ahead In Over 286 Constituencies, Leaving Rivals SP-Congress Combine And The BSP Far Behind Going By Trends Available During The First Two Hours Of Counting.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Arshi Aggarwal | Updated on: 11 Mar 2017, 10:50:54 AM
UP election results | Modi wave outshines Ram Mandir fanfare: BJP set to cross its performance in 1991 elections

New Delhi:

The BJP has stolen an early march over its rivals forging ahead in over 286 constituencies, leaving rivals SP-Congress combine and the BSP far behind going by trends available during the first two hours of counting.

The nascent SP-Congress coalition was ahead in 79 of the total 403 seats in the state while Mayawati’s party was leading in only 28 places.

Massive Modi has helped BJP outshine its post-Ram Mandir incident performance in 1991 assembly elections when it had formed the government with 221 seats majority when Uttrakhand was also part of Uttar Pradesh. 

Follow live coverage on Uttar Pradesh election results 2017

Home Minister Rajnath Singh’s son Pankaj Singh was leading in Noida.Tainted minister Gayatri Prajapati, who is absconding after the UP Police booked him in an alleged gangrape case and attempt to rape a minor, was leading in Amethi.

He is pitted against Garima Singh (BJP), the first wife of Congress leader Sanjay Sinh, and Ameeta Singh (Cong) -- his present wife.

Read | Modi wave resurrects, BJP heads towards clear majority

Minister Yasir Shah was trailing in Matera (Bahraich), while minister Rahguraj Pratap Singh alias Raja Bhaiya was ahead in Kunda.

Jitin Prasada (Congress) was trailing in Tilhar (Shahjahanpur).

SP leader and senior UP minister Shivpal Yadav was trailing in Jaswant Nagar (Etawah) by a slender margin of 65 votes. Manish Yadav Batre (BJP) was leading.Minister Azam Khan was leading from Rampur.

Three-tier security arrangements have been made to ensure security in and around the counting centres.

Read | BJP workers begin celebrations as trends put party in clear majority

A total of 78 counting centres have been set up in the state. In three districts of Amethi, Azamgarh and Kushinagar two counting centres each have been set up and in the remaining 72 district, counting will be held at one place.

Additional CCTV cameras have been installed at vantage points from where the carrying of EVMs from strong rooms to the counting hall can be recorded for effective monitoring.

Uttar Pradesh had witnessed seven-phase polling that started on February 11 and ended on March 8.

Read | Akhilesh's alliance partner Rahul Gandhi's life-size cut-out at SP office disappears, Mulayam replaces him

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 11 Mar 2017, 10:26:00 AM