News Nation Logo


UP Polls 2017: Rashtriya Lok Dal releases 4th, 5th list of candidates

In The Last UP Assembly Elections In 2012, RLD, Which Claims To Wield Power In Western UP, Had Contested 40 Seats And Managed To Win Nine Seats While Forfeiting Deposit On 20.

PTI | Updated on: 24 Jan 2017, 09:21:21 AM
Ajit Singh (PTI Image)

New Delhi:

Spurred by Congress and Samajwadi Party’s denial for pre-poll alliance, Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) on Monday released its fourth and fifth list of candidates for the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Assembly election spanning 21 constituencies.

The prominent seats for which candidates have been announced include Ghaziabad, Noida, Meerut, Agra North, Fatehpur Sikri, Saharanpur, Pilibhit and Tundla.

Those who have made to it the lists include Ayyub Hasan from Saharanpur, Sultan Singh Khari from Ghaziabad and Brijesh Yadav from Noida, Bhupram Gangwar from Pilibhit, according to an official statement by RLD.

The party has replaced Sanjeev Pal with Gyanendra Sharma from Meerut Assembly constituency in the fifth list.

Shahnawaz Rana has bagged RLD ticket from Khatauli, while Brijendra SinghKiwana from Shamli, Yashveer Singh from Siwalkhas, Umesh Verma from Agra North, Basheer Chaudhary from Agra South and Brijesh Chahar from Fatehpur Sikri, the release said.

Besides them, Manoj Kumar Yadav got ticket from Atrauli, Gendalal Chaudhary from Hathras, G P Pushkar from Tundla, Abdul Qadir from Tilhar and Ram Ashrey Verma from Zafrabad, it said.

The Ajit Singh-led party also announced candidates from Dholana, Kheragarh, Bah, Puranpur and Karha.

With today’s announcement, RLD has so far released names of 82 candidates, mostly for the phase I and II of the polls.

Having failed to strike a deal with the Samajwadi Party or Congress, RLD had announced that it will field candidates on all the 403 Assembly seats in alliance with JD(U) and other smaller parties as it is making efforts to come up with the ‘fourth dimension’ in the crucial state polls.

In the last UP Assembly elections in 2012, RLD, which claims to wield power in western UP, had contested 40 seats and managed to win nine seats while forfeiting deposit on 20.

The polling for 73 Assembly seats in phase-I will be held on February 11, while for the 67 seats in phase-II on February 15.

UP will go for polls in seven phases beginning February 11. The last dates for filing nominations for the first and second phases are January 24 and 27, respectively. The election results will be out on March 11.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 24 Jan 2017, 09:17:00 AM

Related Tags:

UP Polls Rashtriya Lok Dal