News Nation Logo

UP polls: Congress releases another list of 29 candidates

Congress Also Fielded Sitting Party MLA Ajay Rai, Who Unsuccessfully Contested The Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat Against Prime Minister Narendra Modi In 2014

PTI | Updated on: 03 Feb 2017, 07:20:38 PM
UP polls: Congress releases another list of 29 candidates (source: Getty)

New Delhi :

Congress on Thursday released a list of 29 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, fielding Aditi Singh, daughter of Akhilesh Singh the five-time MLA from Raebareli seat.

Congress also fielded sitting party MLA Ajay Rai, who unsuccessfully contested the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in 2014, from the Pindra Assembly constituency and another sitting MLA Akhilesh Pratap Singh from Rudrapur seat.

Aditi Singh had joined the party a few months back after her father and local strongman Akhilesh Singh, who was in the Peace party, handed over the mantle to her.

The party also changed its candidate from the Chail Assembly constituency by giving ticket to Talat Azim from the seat in place of Ram Yagya Dwivedi whose name it had announced earlier.Rakesh Singh has been fielded from Harchandpur seat, which falls under the Rae Bareli Lok Sabha segment represented by Congress President Sonia Gandhi.

Also read: UP polls: Filing of nominations for the fifth phase of election starts

Ashok Kumar Singh, who unsuccessfully contested the last Assembly polls, has been fielded from Sareni assembly seat, also falling under Rae Bareli Lok Sabha segment.

Among the Vidhan Sabha seats falling under Amethi Lok Sabha segment represented by Rahul Gandhi, Congress has fielded Vinod Mishra from Tiloi seat and Radhe Shyam Kannaujia from Jagdishpur(SC) Assembly constituency.

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 02 Feb 2017, 11:14:00 PM

Related Tags:

Congress UP Polls