News Nation Logo


Uttar Pradesh polls: Jitin Prasada, Imran Masood included in Congress’ 1st list of candidates

Congress On Sunday Released It's First List Of 41 Candidates For Uttar Pradesh Assembly Polls After Sealing Alliance With Samajwadi Party. Among The List Of Candidates There Are Leaders Such As Jitin Prasad- Former Union Minister Of State For HRD.

News Nation Bureau | Edited By : Prakhar Sharma | Updated on: 23 Jan 2017, 09:00:13 AM
Jitin Prasad file photo

New Delhi:

Congress on Sunday released its first list of 41 candidates for Uttar Pradesh Assembly polls after sealing alliance with Samajwadi Party. Among the list of candidates there are leaders such as Jitin Prasad- former Union Minister of State for HRD.

Prasad will contest elections from Tilhar Assembly constituency in UP. 

The list also included controversial leader Imran Masood who is known for his hate speech against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Masood will contest election from Nakur seat in UP.

Some of the other names in the list include Mukesh Choudhary, who will contest Deoband Assembly constituency, while Pradeep Mathur has been fielded from Mathura seat.

As part of the alliance, the Samajwadi Party will contest on 298 seats while the Congress will field its candidates in 105 seats.

Also Read: SP-Cong alliance in UP: We will fight election together and Akhilesh Yadav will again become Chief Minister, says Naresh Uttam

For all the Latest India News, Download News Nation Android and iOS Mobile Apps.

First Published : 23 Jan 2017, 08:00:00 AM